Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra rum

Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra

Guatemala | Aged

7.4/10
133 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
7
13
36
53
19
3

Rate Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

133 Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by nealc from United States with 2 ratings

I haven't tried the 23, but my understanding is that this is similar but aged in 2 different heavily smoked barrels. It has a very complex set of flavors and aromas, and when I first tried it, I didn't like it much and I even thought it had some kind of a smoked tomato-y hint which I thought was offputting. However as I've tried it more over the past few weeks, I have found many interesting nuances, and the initial impression has given way to a real appreciation. It is a different rum from any I've tried, and that took some time to get used to. Now I look forward to it, it has a beautiful precise sweetness, a flare of smoke, easily and nicely balanced.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Jose Segura from Germany with 20 ratings

Compared to "Zacapa Etiquette negra" I the Edition Negra is more smoky and spicy .
this rum is also very harmonious and has the typical Zacapa caramel flavors .

Im Vergleich zum Etiqueta negra empfinde ich den Edition Negra rauchiger und auch würziger.
Auch dieser Rum ist sehr harmonisch und hat die typischen Zacapa Karamell-Aromen.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Andrewofcalgary from Canada with 80 ratings

While the Zacapa solera 23 I find to be amazing, the negra is just too overpowered with smokey flavour and over priced. I'm going to be sticking to the solera 23.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Don from Canada with 151 ratings

Aromas of toffee, cinnamon and smokey oak; the palate boasts flavours of apple pie, vanilla bean and citrus; medium-bodied and a light burn with a moderate finish. $110 at LCBO is overpriced.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

A good smooth rum. It is very similar to the original with extra char and ash on the finish. I prefer the regular 23 solera. This rum is an 8 but i down graded it to a 7 because of the price.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 424 ratings

Nice smell and taste full of chocolate and smoke. Very complex with long aftertaste. Much better than Zacapa 23y but still under Zacapa XO.

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted almost 4 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar:est 18-20 GPL. In terms of flavour and rating the Edicion Negra his sits right between the Solera 23 and the Zacapa XO. A dark sipping rum with a taste profile contains the well known Caramel, oak, and vanilla flavours associated with the Zacapa line of rums. The Edicion Negra kicks it up the taste with some smoke from the charred barrels it is aged in, plus there are strong traces of leather, tobacco,and spice. This rum is a bit lower in the sweetness factor. When I first tasted this, I thought wow, this is good, perhaps equal to the Zacapa XO. However an immediate taste test concluded that it's not as good as the XO. Still damned good and well worth having in your collection.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Mike Flaherty from Ireland with 6 ratings

Lots going on here, great sipper. Really like it. Much better than the regular 23 Solera

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Daniel from United Kingdom with 21 ratings

This has all the good stuff from the 23 with more on top. More alcohol burn but so much more complexity. Smokey, oaky and delicious. The flavours stay in your mouth and develop for ages. Let it sit in the glass for a few minutes for optimum enjoyment.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Jason from United States with 77 ratings

Rich caramel color, sweet nose, smoky and sweet flavor. This rum has a bit of a bite at the end and a lingering flavor, but solid flavor profile. Probably best served neat or on the rocks.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Jesper Mazanti from Denmark with 128 ratings

Smell is ok
Taste is ok
Aftertaste bit smoke
Not my type of rum