Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra rum

Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra

Guatemala | Aged

7.5/10 (113 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
6
9
31
44
18
3

Rate Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


113 Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted at The L Garage about 3 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 55 ratings

The nose is definitely rum. The colour is dark, red, unusual. Back to the nose... Smokey. That's weird, in a rum. But it still smells like a delicious rum. Maybe not as sweet... Smells like a Zacapa. But with smoke. What's with that?

Then on the tongue. Immediately there's the classic Zacapa taste. Caramel, oak, slight vanilla. Smooth. Then the smoke shows up. So unusual in a rum. Still some bite, but ... it begs to be inhaled. Nose in the glass. I just can't help myself. The aroma, so inviting.
I could sit an inhale the wonderful aroma of this rum all night. Except..
No I can't. I need to keep sipping it.

Such a unique rum. If the opportunity arises, you must taste this. Not the best run I've ever tasted, but it really stands out, definitely worth tracking down.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Per71 from Sweden with 42 ratings

A typical Zacapa, but with smokey notes.
A great choice for the whisky fans out there...

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Isegal from Germany with 81 ratings

this one is really near to the Zacapa 23, with slightly different notes of flavor i like it

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Simon Doherty from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Purchased this to complete the trilogy of 23, XO, EN. I'm not a fan of smoky whisky's and this being aged in double charred barrels has a quite distinguishable level of smokiness. If that's your thing I'm sure you'll love it.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Nathan Hevenstone (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

Sadly, it seems this Zacapa hasn't been subject to one of the many hydrometer tests, but given their propensity for loading their rums with sugars and whatnot, I wouldn't be surprised.

I rated Zacapa's 23 Solera quite highly, not knowing that that taste I loved wasn't, in fact, a fully natural taste (I do intend to go back and change my rating). Now that I know, premium rums that almost certainly have additives like sugar without any kind of labeling automatically lose three points... meaning I will never rate them more than a 7, even if I otherwise enjoy them.

Sadly, even with the likely additives, this one is not amongst their best. It is smokey, which technically I should enjoy because I love a good peat bomb scotch (Octomore 08.3 is a holy grail of mine), but this is missing another aspect of that flavor. In a scotch, a peat bomb isn't just smokey... it also has umami. That is, there's a savoriness to it. (I wonder if peat is another natural source of MSG.) This is missing that completely. It isn't peaty... it's just smokey... like what the smoke from your fireplace might taste like if you (hopefully accidentally) inhaled it.

Then there's the expected sweetness that you always get with a Zacapa rum, but in this case it kind of clashes with the smokiness rather than works with it.

If you're going to get a Zacapa, their 23 Solera is much better. If you want to try this one, then go for it, but hopefully you can find it at a much better (lower) price...

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Mayo from Italy with 22 ratings

Color dark light, soft aroma of fruit, too Mach dry for a dark rum.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Niko Voutilainen from Finland with 3 ratings

Taste is very smooth, pleasent and very smoky. I like it a lot.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Pluring from Sweden with 8 ratings

En god och välbalanserad rom med fin sötma och mycket eftersmak. Man känner att det är en zacapa men rökigheten har jag lite svårt för efter första glaset. Jag återkommer säkert med en ny recension efter jag har druckit den ett tag. Efter första sekunderna i munnen då hjärnan säger till mig att det är whiskey jag dricker så smakar den ljuvligt!

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by JT from Norway with 34 ratings

lukt og smak av vanilje. i tillegg en god ettersmak av røyk, uten at den er for sterk.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 276 ratings

Další příjemná Zacapa, voňavá, nasládlá, úplná spokojenost

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by gypsysb from United States with 9 ratings

This one was a bit on the smoky side for me. Prefer the 23.