Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra rum

Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra

Guatemala | Aged

7.5/10 (110 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
6
9
29
43
18
3

Rate Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


110 Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

3be4c509aa364a5b8ed11af3c4b345ba.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Martin Grönvall from Denmark with 115 ratings

Rigtig lækker duft som man kender fra Zacapa.
Noget sprittet smag til at starte med, efterfulgt af den kendte Zacapa smag.
Eftersmagen er ok!

47a41333812d487efa9175b357d09636.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Nathan Hevenstone (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

Sadly, it seems this Zacapa hasn't been subject to one of the many hydrometer tests, but given their propensity for loading their rums with sugars and whatnot, I wouldn't be surprised.

I rated Zacapa's 23 Solera quite highly, not knowing that that taste I loved wasn't, in fact, a fully natural taste (I do intend to go back and change my rating). Now that I know, premium rums that almost certainly have additives like sugar without any kind of labeling automatically lose three points... meaning I will never rate them more than a 7, even if I otherwise enjoy them.

Sadly, even with the likely additives, this one is not amongst their best. It is smokey, which technically I should enjoy because I love a good peat bomb scotch (Octomore 08.3 is a holy grail of mine), but this is missing another aspect of that flavor. In a scotch, a peat bomb isn't just smokey... it also has umami. That is, there's a savoriness to it. (I wonder if peat is another natural source of MSG.) This is missing that completely. It isn't peaty... it's just smokey... like what the smoke from your fireplace might taste like if you (hopefully accidentally) inhaled it.

Then there's the expected sweetness that you always get with a Zacapa rum, but in this case it kind of clashes with the smokiness rather than works with it.

If you're going to get a Zacapa, their 23 Solera is much better. If you want to try this one, then go for it, but hopefully you can find it at a much better (lower) price...

1b574cc23e02b69a133e0333e06f08ad.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Mayo from Italy with 22 ratings

Color dark light, soft aroma of fruit, too Mach dry for a dark rum.

F1dbd141a02d34810ba182a0f89d3d93.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Niko Voutilainen from Finland with 3 ratings

Taste is very smooth, pleasent and very smoky. I like it a lot.

F838b12ea27a74635a4162fccb3cd896.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Pluring from Sweden with 8 ratings

En god och välbalanserad rom med fin sötma och mycket eftersmak. Man känner att det är en zacapa men rökigheten har jag lite svårt för efter första glaset. Jag återkommer säkert med en ny recension efter jag har druckit den ett tag. Efter första sekunderna i munnen då hjärnan säger till mig att det är whiskey jag dricker så smakar den ljuvligt!

94b964e08d67b06d827b5d8dd01fde75.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by JT from Norway with 34 ratings

lukt og smak av vanilje. i tillegg en god ettersmak av røyk, uten at den er for sterk.

0b441dd47f79396ea37500b0253f7198.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 233 ratings

Další příjemná Zacapa, voňavá, nasládlá, úplná spokojenost

F59d1f7a1e374202bc19eeee5398b557.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by gypsysb from United States with 9 ratings

This one was a bit on the smoky side for me. Prefer the 23.

Ed6dfdafd3d8b4fc1408880c837c2c49.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Mephisto from Germany with 38 ratings

Not sweet, vey pleseant. A lot of oak with gentle bitterness and dark chocolate. Dried apricot in the nose or maybe some plum? The fruit is hidden behind dry brown sugar and the wood. A lot of intense herbal aroma. Also burnt toast and cold cigar ash.

A29a309c94affc5c861803a403d319d7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Clem from United States with 11 ratings

This was not what I was hoping for. Too strong and harsh. Turns out it works awesome as a dark for my Dark and Stormy's. Excellent character and notes in a mixed drink. But when it's done o probably won't buy again.

7d5903c0dd5256a44fc7af9e06666680.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by Akzme2 from United States with 5 ratings

I love Ron Zacapa rums and this one doesn’t disappoint either. A little more complex flavor than Solera 23, with a nice smokiness to it. Very good sipping run.