Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra rum

Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra

Guatemala | Aged

7.4/10
134 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
7
13
36
55
18
3

Rate Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

134 Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 8 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 282 ratings

Hated to tell my friend I didn’t like it, especially when I found it it’s more expensive than Solare 23 (which I’m not fond of either). I just plain did not like the flavor. Will likely give it a go again but not soon.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by James from United States with 21 ratings

Great aroma with a smooth, lingering taste that doesn’t disappoint. A bit sweet at the onset which keeps this from being rated higher but the flavors come through in the end. Dark color helps to make this a total package of sight, smell, and taste. Another great edition to my collection.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2746 ratings

I tried the Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra back to back with the much better 23y Solera aged Zacapa and I was expecting a deeper taste profile and more intense flavors than the 23 year Solera aged Zacapa, but the Zacapa Negra version is actually much more smokier than I expected. I would imagine the Negra version will appeal to whisky fans, but I'm an advocate for proper aged dark rums with deep flavors, not whisky imitations. Struggles to even make a 7 rating.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Bryan from United States with 1 rating

Wow what a flavor profile it definitely has those chocolate notes I have come to expect from Zacapa and hints of cinnamon any smother and you would be drinking water this is some Great stuff my new favorite go to

No rum collection should be without this one again Wow

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by nealc from United States with 2 ratings

I haven't tried the 23, but my understanding is that this is similar but aged in 2 different heavily smoked barrels. It has a very complex set of flavors and aromas, and when I first tried it, I didn't like it much and I even thought it had some kind of a smoked tomato-y hint which I thought was offputting. However as I've tried it more over the past few weeks, I have found many interesting nuances, and the initial impression has given way to a real appreciation. It is a different rum from any I've tried, and that took some time to get used to. Now I look forward to it, it has a beautiful precise sweetness, a flare of smoke, easily and nicely balanced.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by paaf from Czech Republic with 49 ratings

There is nothing really special in this rum, it is bit stronger then Zacapa 23.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Ken from United States with 2 ratings

I love the color, the smell and most importantly the taste. Fresh, smooth and smoky with just the right sweetness for my palette.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by hacogolf52 from Austria with 1 rating

Liegt angenehm in der Nase,Gaumenfüllend
Schoko, Vanille, Trockenfrüchte, Banane, Rosinen

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Chri$$ from Austria with 18 ratings

Ein recht typischer Zacapa, für Guatemala recht schwerer Rum mit einer klaren Süße, Schokolade und getrockneten Früchte als Hauptnote. Der Abgang wird von Vanille und einer leichten Phenolnote begleitet. Gut und gerne wieder.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Ryan from United Kingdom with 10 ratings

Refined and delicious with a sweet after taste with smokey tones. I'm a massive fan of the 23 but this trumps it.
If you can find one buy it.

Ffffff

Posted 19 days ago by jepoycat from Philippines with 19 ratings

What a smoky rum! Apart from the obvious fact that this will go perfectly in a Dark and Stormy, as a sipping rum this hits all the right notes while providing a novel approach to rum flavors with that smoky quality.