Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra rum

Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra

Guatemala | Aged

7.5/10 (110 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
6
9
29
43
18
3

Rate Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


110 Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ba87ca8f38a8998f6b6431a5e0cb5fa9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted at The L Garage almost 3 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 55 ratings

The nose is definitely rum. The colour is dark, red, unusual. Back to the nose... Smokey. That's weird, in a rum. But it still smells like a delicious rum. Maybe not as sweet... Smells like a Zacapa. But with smoke. What's with that?

Then on the tongue. Immediately there's the classic Zacapa taste. Caramel, oak, slight vanilla. Smooth. Then the smoke shows up. So unusual in a rum. Still some bite, but ... it begs to be inhaled. Nose in the glass. I just can't help myself. The aroma, so inviting.
I could sit an inhale the wonderful aroma of this rum all night. Except..
No I can't. I need to keep sipping it.

Such a unique rum. If the opportunity arises, you must taste this. Not the best run I've ever tasted, but it really stands out, definitely worth tracking down.

38fdc1cc00a9074ddaebecec187e9a27.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 191 ratings

Sugar:est 18-20 GPL. In terms of flavour and rating the Edicion Negra his sits right between the Solera 23 and the Zacapa XO. A dark sipping rum with a taste profile contains the well known Caramel, oak, and vanilla flavours associated with the Zacapa line of rums. The Edicion Negra kicks it up the taste with some smoke from the charred barrels it is aged in, plus there are strong traces of leather, tobacco,and spice. This rum is a bit lower in the sweetness factor. When I first tasted this, I thought wow, this is good, perhaps equal to the Zacapa XO. However an immediate taste test concluded that it's not as good as the XO. Still damned good and well worth having in your collection.

05c815e0888e02d3abfff3c48953da40.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Ken from United States with 2 ratings

I love the color, the smell and most importantly the taste. Fresh, smooth and smoky with just the right sweetness for my palette.

C4297aaa89f81f4f16c13059cb6fe49e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by hacogolf52 from Austria with 1 rating

Liegt angenehm in der Nase,Gaumenfüllend
Schoko, Vanille, Trockenfrüchte, Banane, Rosinen

9604250f4534005748f9ce7a8be30de2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Chri$$ from Austria with 18 ratings

Ein recht typischer Zacapa, für Guatemala recht schwerer Rum mit einer klaren Süße, Schokolade und getrockneten Früchte als Hauptnote. Der Abgang wird von Vanille und einer leichten Phenolnote begleitet. Gut und gerne wieder.

E3330ffc22479af0dcab29d714a52b46.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Ryan from United Kingdom with 10 ratings

Refined and delicious with a sweet after taste with smokey tones. I'm a massive fan of the 23 but this trumps it.
If you can find one buy it.

054f6754ca1d5a5ebfb2a14462e3bd19.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 15 days ago by Richard from Sweden with 57 ratings

Nicely balanced overall, but too smoky for my liking. Reminds too much of whisky and not as much of rum as I would've liked

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 23 days ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 326 ratings

I did not think that I would like this heavily smoked rum. but I gave it a try anyway. Many compare this one to their Zacapa 23, but that one is long forgotten by me and will never be bought again. I recently had their much better Ron Zacapa XO which ranks in my top 10 percent of all rums that I have reviewed. This one? Well not quite. It is good, but just not worth it's $62 US price tag. It appears to be made from distilled sugar cane juice and and aged at high altitude in double charred barrels. At first taste, it is like WOW! Then it becomes more smoke than rum, but not quite to the point of being sickening. For lovers of peat heavy single malts from Islay, I can recommend this rum to those. However, I would much rather spend my money on a bottle of Lagavulin 16 Single Malt than this rum in hiding.

2a169f981e01ae0afa3a247d4a2f8cf9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 28 days ago by Lanier from Belgium with 37 ratings

Nice smell and taste full of chocolate and smoke. Very complex with long aftertaste.

28838fa6968c0b60a29fc5a078ec6834.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 128 ratings

It is more mature than classic 23y and more complex. You can feel more oak and smoke due to additional ageing in burned bourbon casks. Rest of the flavour profile is similar to classic 23y but this one seems to me more balanced.

9e2e4ecfc3d632e1f32e9bcfb9f4f43b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by Willem from Netherlands with 9 ratings

Find it a bit sharp, spicy, but that fades away. Aftertaste is very light and it fades away, but a nice drink.