Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra rum

Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra

Guatemala | Aged

7.4/10
134 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
7
13
36
55
18
3

Rate Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

134 Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 8 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 282 ratings

Hated to tell my friend I didn’t like it, especially when I found it it’s more expensive than Solare 23 (which I’m not fond of either). I just plain did not like the flavor. Will likely give it a go again but not soon.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by michael from United States with 44 ratings

Typical Zacapa color. A smokiness tadds depth that the 23 lacks. It's smooth with a kick. A very nice balance overall.

Edit: after polishing off this bottle, rather quickly, I've come to a stronger conclusion.

It's a little smoky, but not Mezcal smoky. It's a treat down the gullet. I found this to be super smooth on the finish but with plenty of bite (ethanol) on the throat. It's an experience from
Start to finish.

Some insist it's better than the regular 23. I would agree. The price reflects that. However, some say it's better than the XO. This is false.

Score is still an 8. Really flat 8. The score is based off their practice and a lack of general uniqueness within the aged rum category.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Bob R from United States with 1 rating

Tried several samples at IPCPR Las Vegas, the smoke and spice work really well with a cigar...paired with a Nicaraguan Maduro late afternoon and a Nicaraguan Habano late morning; both worked well......initial sample with straight up with a lingering spice finish. MMMMMM.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Carlos from Mexico with 50 ratings

SIN DUDA UN SABOR ESPECIAL, UN RON CON CUERPO Y COLOR! LOS FANÁTICOS DE ZACAPA LO TIENEN QUE TENER!!!

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Marc from Denmark with 14 ratings

A little dissapointet. I actually like the 23 solera better

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Bryan Gehrett from United States with 28 ratings

Something did not sit right with me and this rum. As Zacapa XO is among my very favorites my expectations were very high. I have to say that I expected this rum to be smoother because of being aged in a charred barrel. It did have a little more body than 23 Solera, but It was not as smooth. Still good a a mixer. But at his price point, you'd do better to go with something more common.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 76 ratings

For the most part I've liked most Zacapa products I've tried.
However; this one is totally different. Right off the bat, smoke, smoke, smoke.
At first I thought; not bad, but by the time I got near the end of my glass, the overpowering smoke flavour started to become sickening.
The smoke really masks all the other flavours and makes this one for me very one dimensional.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 325 ratings

I only had a small taste of this rum, but it really surprised me. I'm a fan of the Solera 23, but still find it overly sweet. The Edicion Negra is much more balanced, with a glorious hint of smoke and spice that others mentioned. In true Zacapa form it's as smooth as all get-out, is complex, and (don't worry) still certainly leans sweet.

Worth the price? Debatable—but definitely in another league compared to its familiar sibling.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Martin Grönvall from Denmark with 115 ratings

Rigtig lækker duft som man kender fra Zacapa.
Noget sprittet smag til at starte med, efterfulgt af den kendte Zacapa smag.
Eftersmagen er ok!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

Dark and smoky. A little sweet with some vanilla vibe. I get a touch of heat, like hot cinnamon. Nice and deep. Smoke lingers through the finish.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Wekke from Belgium with 64 ratings

nice rum that's on the sweeter side.
a bit more complex than the 23 and the xo.
with a smoky taste and higher %
great for sipping.