Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra rum

Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra

Guatemala | Aged

7.4/10
134 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
7
13
36
55
18
3

Rate Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

134 Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 8 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 282 ratings

Hated to tell my friend I didn’t like it, especially when I found it it’s more expensive than Solare 23 (which I’m not fond of either). I just plain did not like the flavor. Will likely give it a go again but not soon.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Joe from United States with 5 ratings

Very sweet...not tasting any cask or aging barrel. Just a true rum flavor with a very light alcohol after taste. If you are a sweet rum fan this is about as good as it gets. If you like the heavy more distinct flavors of oak aged rums this will not do it for you. Truly not a big difference between this and Ron Zacapa 23. I like it!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

Dark good looking colour on this one. Nose: coffee, dark chocolate and burnt sugar. Palate: coffee, cacao and brown sugar.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Deke from United States with 3 ratings

I have a particular fondness for the Zacapa rums and the XO is one of my favorites. The 23 is my go to daily sipper but the edicionl negra is in interesting change of pace. The flavor profile is more complex and more intense on my palate. I find that the smokiness stands up really well when I'm enjoying the rum with a cigar.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Marten from Netherlands with 6 ratings

This rum has a strong smokey taste. I like this rum more than the solera 23.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Golfm from Denmark with 154 ratings

I'm not impressed, but it's not a bad Rum. Maybe tomorrow

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Ben Rowe from Australia with 7 ratings

Very intriguing rum. As soon as I open the bottle you could smell the rich oak and spices. I personally feel this to be more of a very good spiced rum. I also personally find I can only really enjoy this neat in small amount or mixed with coke. Very strong oak and smoke after taste. I really enjoy this rum!!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tom Rhoads from United States with 88 ratings

It is different than the standard Ron Zacapa 23 Solera. Different enough to make it worth finding a bottle and trying.
I don't find it quite as sweet which can be a nice change.

Small img 20210318 181935441

Posted over 3 years ago by Peter from United States with 27 ratings

A rum I hadn't seen before grabbed in duty free. I was a little surprised when I opened it, it wasn't appealing and I didn't like it at all. It was harsh and rough, but has since, over time grown on me. Still not my favourite or even close but I will enjoy finishing the bottle!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jerome from France with 22 ratings

Après avoir testé le 23 ans j ai reçu celui-ci en cadeau.
Amateur de rhums doux et riches j ai aimé.
Je trouve que l alcool ressort un peu moins que sur le 23 ans et il est bon tout du long.
Je trouve qu il a un côté très fumé.

Small 20201218 210910

Posted at The L Garage over 3 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 61 ratings

The nose is definitely rum. The colour is dark, red, unusual. Back to the nose... Smokey. That's weird, in a rum. But it still smells like a delicious rum. Maybe not as sweet... Smells like a Zacapa. But with smoke. What's with that?

Then on the tongue. Immediately there's the classic Zacapa taste. Caramel, oak, slight vanilla. Smooth. Then the smoke shows up. So unusual in a rum. Still some bite, but ... it begs to be inhaled. Nose in the glass. I just can't help myself. The aroma, so inviting.
I could sit an inhale the wonderful aroma of this rum all night. Except..
No I can't. I need to keep sipping it.

Such a unique rum. If the opportunity arises, you must taste this. Not the best run I've ever tasted, but it really stands out, definitely worth tracking down.