Posting your rating...
El Dorado 3-Year rum

Rate El Dorado 3-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


61 El Dorado 3-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 6 years ago by Rob Bratney from United States with 8 ratings

Great flavor, smooth, little bite. Definitely my favorite light rum I've had.

Posted 10 months ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Grassy, creamy smoke vanilla with subtle wood dust, also pine and mint. For fairness this is not crafted for nosing anyway, but it smells right with clean and purity. (85/19)

P- Medium full with coal, balanced of light sweetness with spicy notes. Still pleasant to sip as sometimes white rum tend to get a wee 'industrial' but not with this one. Restrained note of cedar, light tobacco, orange peel and coconut. (86/20)

F- Medium, pine, mellow spirit with fine body, relaxing, tropical and breezy. Quite enjoyable even at neat. (86/20)

B/B- 86/20

Weighted Rate- 79pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

Posted over 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

Nice body for a young rum. For $14 it has a lot of bang for the buck.

edited to add sugar test results- 2g

Posted 13 days ago by Bamboleo from Germany with 15 ratings

This rum lacks the freshness you would expect from a white rum and replaces it with an odd vanilla-cream aroma.

Posted about 1 month ago by MickeEng from Sweden with 6 ratings

Well, truth...im not a fan of white rum, but this El Dorado rum i really enjoy, i think its smooth and very tasty, a good buy.

Posted about 2 months ago by Robert from Slovakia with 39 ratings

I gave it 6/10 considering this forum is about all rums but if talking about white rums I could give it even 7 or 8! it is a great mixer but you can sip it easily, bit sweet, quite smooth with a point in direction to good rums in its family, comparing e. g. to white bacardi it is like heaven and hell :)

Posted 3 months ago by BarometerSoup from United States with 6 ratings

Really interesting flavors that linger. Aftertaste was a little much but a great rum.

Posted 4 months ago by Andreasx from Canada with 24 ratings

This one neat is ok. It has a little bit of an after taste, but it doesn’t linger long.

Posted 5 months ago by Rumdog from New Zealand with 10 ratings

Smooth mixer, strong vanilla on mose and taste, no aftertaste to speak of.

Posted 11 months ago by jelmd from Germany with 17 ratings

Alles was man durchaus mehr als 1x am Abend pur trinken/nippen kann, startet bei mir mit 'ner 5. Dazu gehört dieser Rum definitiv. Für einen weißen geschmacklich schon ganz gut (Tendenz zur 6) und tut auch einen guten Dienst beim Mixen. Zum Banks' 5 Islands ist zwar noch gut Platz (dafür ist der El Dorado IMHO dann doch noch etwas zu scharf und sprittig), aber im Allgemeinen vielfältiger [einsetzbar] als z.B. ein Havana Club 3 years.

Posted 11 months ago by Passie from Netherlands with 46 ratings

The same as El Dorado Superior White. Not bad, but a bit stale and not as refreshing as what I like about a white rum. Too nutty.

Posted 11 months ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

No no to the blanco, leave it to age. This was unpleasant.

Posted about 1 year ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 134 ratings

I am not that well-rounded, when it comes to white rums, but I do know, that I like a white rum, that can give some character to a drink or to the evening sip, this is not something, that can be said about this one.

Nose: Sugar, Coconut and some faint citrus.
Taste: Some faint taste of coconut, sugar, citrus and vanilla.
Overall: To be honest, this is very watery. There is not much happening in this rum, so it won´t harm anyone, but it will also be hard to excite anyone with this one.

Posted over 1 year ago by Jpotocki from Hungary with 26 ratings

This is a go to Demarara white rum for mixing quality cocktails. No need to drink this as a stand alone rum it is simply not its strength or purpose. Outstanding daiquiri rum especially if it is flanked by a splash of Lemon Hart 151 or Plantation OFTD for example. All in all for the money and the flavour, ElDo 3-year ranks as one of the most useful white rums out there.

Posted over 1 year ago by Didrik from Norway with 29 ratings

Does the trick in a cocktail, but not as a sipping rum

Posted over 1 year ago by Card from United States with 62 ratings

Had with fruit punch and mostly coke. Not a sipper. Nothing remarkable about it. It didn’t make drink worse just didn’t enhance it. Smooth for most part and falls into price and range it’s looking to fall into. Cheaper side rum to mix

Posted almost 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Good solid base for mojitos and mai tais. I'm not a fan of the white rums but it's a lot nicer than bacardi white. There's aromas of coconut and vanilla but there is harsh alcohol burn on the sip

Posted about 2 years ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 129 ratings

Запах конфитюра, пластика, тропических специй, потом резкость спирта. Позже надоедает.
Во вкусе приятное округлое начало, после жжение и в меру горечь, ваниль, сладость.
Вызывает интерес и комфорт на весь вечер, хотя без сопровождения в чистом виде пить его трудно.
Не замечено тяжёлых эффектов от данной демерары.

Posted about 2 years ago by HammerHead from Netherlands with 22 ratings

A nicely aged white (actually filtered) rum. A pleasant fruitiness in nose and taste and a sugar coated aftertaste, but nothing too sweet. Comparable to the Plantation 3 stars (which remains the clear favourite).

Posted about 2 years ago by JRR from Canada with 37 ratings

Light and tasty. 3 years old, you can see the differences with not aged white rum. À must in your bar for mixing.

Posted about 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

After letting my first ounce breathe in a snifter for about 10 minutes or so, that initial burn on the aroma and going down the pipe is gone. What you have after that is very faint hints of coconut, chocolate, and vanilla, but not enough to rival those from Vizcaya Cristal. So there was no need to do side by side taste testing against my top three white rums all rated as a 7. I also rate this a tad better than Cruzan Light, but at another $7 over Cruzan and having to drive another 25 miles one way to replace this entry level El Dorado, I seriously doubt that I would buy it again. It is still much more readily available and cheaper than Vizcaya Cristal, which is it's closest comparison.

Posted over 2 years ago by Dan from United Kingdom with 32 ratings

Drinkable white rum, but nothing to write home about.

Posted over 2 years ago by Sam from Netherlands with 14 ratings

Nice one where a light demerara rum is requested - 5.5/10

Posted over 2 years ago by Jm from France with 33 ratings

Une belle douceur, un nez agréable. Idéal en mojitos par exemple 😋




#