Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

Appleton Estate 12-Year Rum is a blend of several rums aged between 12 and 18 years in American oak barrels after being distilled using small-batch copper pot stills.

The rum is produced on the Appleton Estate, which sits in the Nassau Valley in Jamaica. The estate’s origins date back as far as 1655 when the English overthrew the Spanish to rule the island and Frances Dickinson, grandfather of the distillery’s founders, received the land as a reward for his role in the overthrow.

7.0/10
609 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
10
9
36
101
208
191
41
8

Rate Appleton Estate 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

609 Appleton Estate 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by DOMINO from Switzerland with 19 ratings

I don't like the jamaica flavor. But it's one of the best jamaican rum. A lot of wineberry and wirily hair...

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Markku from Finland with 12 ratings

This is quite complex, well aged, nutty, powerful and not too sweet rum. Aftertaste are quite harsh in the first place, but give it time, swirl the glass and then it becomes smoother a little bit. Cheapest 12 years old spirit I have ever seen and definitely not the worst!

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by JJ Geewax from United States with 36 ratings

Not a bad one, obviously the older ones are a bit tastier.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Sakulnikov from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

I like its dark colour however I can't say the same about its aroma. I just don't smell anything in it. Well the taste is significantly better than the aroma - caramel and some nuts. The taste is full with and has a decent finish. For me it is an average rum (well I expected a more complex taste and aroma from a 12yo - without knowing it I'd guess this rum is 7-9yo). It could be good sipping if you don't have much experience with rums and also a good introduction to 12yo rums but nothing more.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Robert from United States with 7 ratings

Though I find Appleton runs dry, I enjoy them. I agree with an earlier review that a 12 year old rum should have more character but that withstanding this is still a very drinkable rum. Its fairly smooth and displays mild oakiness and vanilla hints. Has a decent finish. Good Value.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by SaltwaterTom from United States with 20 ratings

Relatively smooth, rich, a good drink.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Mike McPhee from Canada with 13 ratings

Appleton Rum is OK at the best of times. The 12 year old does hold a smoother taste than the regular bottles. Colour is attractive and can be enjoyed on the rocks but there are much better options such as El Dorado 12.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by rafeener from Canada with 25 ratings

You talk to lot's of people about Rum and they bring up Appleton...why?
Won't turn it down if it was given to me...but not my first choice.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by thorfin from France with 18 ratings

j'aime ce rhum, une tres bonne note boisé, a conseiller

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Skulman from United States with 117 ratings

Nice smooth rum

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Simon Richard from Canada with 15 ratings

Très bon, un peu plus robuste que les autres 12 ans que j'ai goûté.
Very good, a bit more robust that the other 12yo I've tasted.