Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

Appleton Estate 12-Year Rum is a blend of several rums aged between 12 and 18 years in American oak barrels after being distilled using small-batch copper pot stills.

The rum is produced on the Appleton Estate, which sits in the Nassau Valley in Jamaica. The estate’s origins date back as far as 1655 when the English overthrew the Spanish to rule the island and Frances Dickinson, grandfather of the distillery’s founders, received the land as a reward for his role in the overthrow.

7.0/10(605 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
10
9
36
101
207
189
40
8

Rate Appleton Estate 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

605 Appleton Estate 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Kiwi Mojo from Australia with 9 ratings

Nice round-bodied product - can be mixed or consumed neat. Solid contender in the cabinet it gets used in a lot of cocktails - everyone seems to like it.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

One of the quintessential rums for tiki drinks and it´s one of the rums in the classic Mai Tai combo, Appleton Extra and St James Hors d`age or other aged rhum agricole. It`s a very good mixing rum, good for most cocktails and also neat. No added sugar in this one which makes a more "real" rum to me.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Gerald from Austria with 21 ratings

Nose: Alcoholic ,sugar, light fruits ,caramel
Taste: less taste , sharp , alcoholic , light fruits ,caramel ,wood
cognac.

Nothing for me.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Thomas from Denmark with 4 ratings

God duft, men smag følger ikke med

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Tikihead from United States with 23 ratings

I expected more from a 12 year rum. Best with an ice cube if sipped. Smooth enough to sip but I thought it was a little on the bitter side and would probably be better in a mixed drink.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Dustin Doran from United States with 79 ratings

For a high-ester rum, this is delicious. I'm sure the 12 years helped tone them down a bit, but still a true Jamaican rum which is nice and approachable, smooth and lingering with that Jamaican character.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Mitch Gomez from Canada with 17 ratings

Good strong jamaican rum, I prefer it in mixed drinks rather than on the rocks

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Shane from United States with 26 ratings

Rich, sweet flavor. Froths nicely with cola. Smooth on the rocks. This is not Bacardi!

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by YY from Japan with 9 ratings

Good opportunity to think about Jamaica,Thanx!

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by forrest loftis from United States with 13 ratings

If I stocked it I would use it for mixing. Too harsh for a sipper and difficult to distinguished specific flavors. Rather much of a burn which I don t care for. It's come to be what I expect when buying Appleton or Bacardi . Both these giants need to catch up to their great completion in quality sipping rum for the limited budget.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Jay Crandall from United States with 12 ratings

The Appleton Estate Rum is (in my opinion) neither fish nor fowl- It self advertises as "the best Jamaica offers" yet doesn't present itself as a Notable "on the rocks" or "Straight up" drink. Perhaps the older variations have a more impressive taste to them. For me, it's too raw-