Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

Appleton Estate 12-Year Rum is a blend of several rums aged between 12 and 18 years in American oak barrels after being distilled using small-batch copper pot stills.

The rum is produced on the Appleton Estate, which sits in the Nassau Valley in Jamaica. The estate’s origins date back as far as 1655 when the English overthrew the Spanish to rule the island and Frances Dickinson, grandfather of the distillery’s founders, received the land as a reward for his role in the overthrow.

7.0/10 (577 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
10
9
36
95
200
174
41
7

Rate Appleton Estate 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


577 Appleton Estate 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by ZZ from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

I bought this rum after reviews from this site. Appleton Estate 12 yo disappointed me. A very spicy, woody taste and in taste is predominant alcohol. More like whiskey than rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Adam from Canada with 22 ratings

After trying almost all that is readily available I've settled on this one for an affordable sipper. Being obsessed with Appleton, I knew I'd like it. Smooth, flavourful, rich with a lingering aftertaste. The citrus and caramel is like liquid candy. Mmmmmm

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by ER from United States with 2 ratings

Nice, smooth taste; smells amazing. Definitely worth the money.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Marc from Netherlands with 30 ratings

I was surprised how god this is looping at the price range it is in.
At the first sip it seems very strong but that fades away in the mouth.
This rum has a very nice and long aftertaste in the mouth and troath with notes of oak,caramel,banana and a lot of other notes.
After a couple of sips you find out how smooth this rum actualy is when you roll it around in your mouth.
It's very well blended and it's almost it each sip reveals more notes in this rum.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Jack from United States with 16 ratings

I think more for tasting neat, than mixing, though mixes extraordinarily well. The regular Appleton is good, yet a working man's version of the 12 year, which is a compliment to both.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by JCarter from United States with 27 ratings

I've heard some good things about appleton estate and for me it was a good taste but a bit on the strong side. I like my rum to be smooth with some hints of vanilla and this one doesn't have that. It's good to put in coke to get a rum bite at the end.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Oliver from Spain with 56 ratings

Not as nice as expected, lots of contradictions. The more I drink it, the less I like it. The smell is interesting but not really nice, the taste too is intereseting but far to strong alcohol taste. Can't believe it is a 12yo. Would not buy it again for sure. Its so strong I think my car could use it if I run out of fuel.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Stefan h from Sweden with 4 ratings

Let the rum rest a while in the glass before you start drinking it.
The nose has a distinct vanilla and hints of citrus on the top. I dug deeper and found brown sugar and oaky smoke.
The taste is even more initial brown sugar and a deep oak feel to it, but without being overly sweet. After a while a warm sensation from alcohol. In the end of the tail I find... drumroll.. molasses. I like it, a lot.

A perfect sipper rum of a classic origin.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by mike carter from United States with 5 ratings

Went to Jamaica and found this treat at an all-inclusive hotel. Great drink. can tell the difference between the 12 vs. their basic rum. Wouldn't want a drink without the 12 label or above.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by sulohanuri from Finland with 27 ratings

Really great rum. Appleton family is my personal favor and so far 12 y is best. I have´t taste older ones... yet.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 307 ratings

Alkohol: 43 %
Původ: Jamajka
Aroma: Kořenitě hřejivá vůně, se spoustou skořice, kůže. Když jsem si přečetl, že zraje v použitých sudech po Jacku Danielovi, tak ho tam najednou cítím taky. Ne, beze srandy, fakt tam lehký závan je. A je to aroma opravdu příjemné. (87 b)
Chuť: Suchá chuť, dřevitěhořkočokoládová, hřebíček. Beze stopy po sladkosti. (77 b)
Body: 82
Shrnutí: Měl jsem vzorek od kamaráda. Vůně je tedy výborná, ovšem chuťově mě tento Appleton vůbec nazaujal.