Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

Appleton Estate 12-Year Rum is a blend of several rums aged between 12 and 18 years in American oak barrels after being distilled using small-batch copper pot stills.

The rum is produced on the Appleton Estate, which sits in the Nassau Valley in Jamaica. The estate’s origins date back as far as 1655 when the English overthrew the Spanish to rule the island and Frances Dickinson, grandfather of the distillery’s founders, received the land as a reward for his role in the overthrow.

7.0/10
617 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
10
10
37
103
210
193
41
8

Rate Appleton Estate 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

617 Appleton Estate 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by DOMINO from Switzerland with 19 ratings

I don't like the jamaica flavor. But it's one of the best jamaican rum. A lot of wineberry and wirily hair...

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by El Cap from United States with 62 ratings

All-around, considering what may be available at a random liquor store you wander into , this is a good, readily available, delicious rum.

Thumbs up.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 124 ratings

First glass was - OMG, is this a rum or what? And the last was, mmmm, I am gonna see you again baby! It was my first Jamaica rum some time ago, it was not a love on the first sight, but man - this is such a good drink for such good price. The nose is not typically Jamaican funk as you can find in Hampden, it is less filled with esters, it has deeper undertones of oak, fruits and molasses, real pleasure. The taste is smooth yet rich, full of oak, smoke and spice, the aftertaste is long and complex. I got to buy another one to reevaluate :)

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 154 ratings

Každý kto chce začať s Jamajkou,toto môže byť jeho vstupná brána. Základný kúsok od Appletonu, pekný nedosladzovany rum, ktorý by mal každý rumar ochutnať. Nespadnete z neho na kolená,no ani nesklame

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Acutulus (PREMIUM) from United States with 12 ratings

I don’t understand how this rum is rated so low. The 12 yr old is a combination of aged older rums so Appleton gets a lot of credit for not averaging “up”. The honey gold color (think “bronze”) evidences the American Oak barrel as well as the vanilla. Upon opening your immediately hit by the oak, charred, smokey nose. The mild sweetness confirmed the quality rather than the “smother w/sugar” a number of rum maker default to as a way of hiding mediocre results. This rum is a “Buy” for a great evening of pleasurable sipping.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Redrum from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Really enjoyed this and wished I’d bought two bottles when it was on sale on amazon. Smells like it is going to be quite funky but wasn’t

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Loud from Canada with 23 ratings

I’ve been enjoying the Appleton’s Reserve for quite awhile and I didn’t expect this to be much different.

The 12 is MUCH better than the reserve! Now I really like to start with the 12 and then switch down to the reserve after 1 or 2. It is a seamless step down and a great way to enhance an evening.

Now I’m really keen to try some of the older more expensive Appleton’s.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Jonathan from Canada with 4 ratings

I've tasted the signature blend and the reserve blend. This one is their best so far. I really enjoyed the smoothness and taste. Great with a single ice cube.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Denes from Hungary with 15 ratings

The finish of this rum is a little bit smoky, similar for me, like scotch whiskeys, the smell of the drink, a bit unnatural to me, reminds me of glue, but if I drink more of it, it's not bad at all!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 332 ratings

Solid Jamaica sipper, quite cheap and good. It's not very funky and can not compete with his funky, shiny Jamaica brothers from other distilleries.
But you get here what you pay for and it's good. Complex enough for sipping not harsh, very enjoyable.

Smell: dry fruits, cocoa, caramel, molasses, citrus, barrel/wood (oak), some fruits in the background (not very fruity for Jamaica rum)
Taste: citrus, caramel, wood, scpice, covoa, iodine, molasses, burned sugar, slightly spiciness at 43% - very good
Nice fruity aftertaste (a combination of banana, pear, orange)

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Spicy: 2.5/5
Fruit: 2/5
Mildness: 3/5
Complexity: 3.5/5
Value (24€): 4/5
Expert level: amateur - professional

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Nisan Jaffee from Israel with 14 ratings

I love this Rum. It is full of molasses and very smooth. An incredibly rich nose. Great neat, or mixed. I especially like it on the rocks with a splash of seltzer and some lime juice. One other advantage - It comes in a Liter bottle! And the price is very reasonable per ml compared to "less expensive" rums that come in 700 ml.