Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

Appleton Estate 12-Year Rum is a blend of several rums aged between 12 and 18 years in American oak barrels after being distilled using small-batch copper pot stills.

The rum is produced on the Appleton Estate, which sits in the Nassau Valley in Jamaica. The estate’s origins date back as far as 1655 when the English overthrew the Spanish to rule the island and Frances Dickinson, grandfather of the distillery’s founders, received the land as a reward for his role in the overthrow.

7.0/10 (577 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
10
9
36
95
200
174
41
7

Rate Appleton Estate 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


577 Appleton Estate 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by ZZ from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

I bought this rum after reviews from this site. Appleton Estate 12 yo disappointed me. A very spicy, woody taste and in taste is predominant alcohol. More like whiskey than rum.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Jonathan from Canada with 4 ratings

I've tasted the signature blend and the reserve blend. This one is their best so far. I really enjoyed the smoothness and taste. Great with a single ice cube.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Denes from Hungary with 15 ratings

The finish of this rum is a little bit smoky, similar for me, like scotch whiskeys, the smell of the drink, a bit unnatural to me, reminds me of glue, but if I drink more of it, it's not bad at all!

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Nisan Jaffee from Israel with 14 ratings

I love this Rum. It is full of molasses and very smooth. An incredibly rich nose. Great neat, or mixed. I especially like it on the rocks with a splash of seltzer and some lime juice. One other advantage - It comes in a Liter bottle! And the price is very reasonable per ml compared to "less expensive" rums that come in 700 ml.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by JGulla from United States with 7 ratings

Well, I have to say, I was hoping to enjoy this much more than I have thus far. That said, this is my first real experience with a Jamaican-style rum, so there’s that.

The aroma? Smells like pure magic marker to me- which for this relative newcomer to Jamaican rums is enough to make me recoil and rethink whether I really want to swallow what’s in the glass - especially neat. I’m not 100% sure if that’s the infamous “hogo” I hear so much about, but if so, hogo is a “no go” for my palate. It certainly does bring that funk.

The taste? Not as unpleasant as I would expect given the noxious smell wafting out of the glass, but still not great either. Hard to put my finger on (or tongue on, if you will) but the pot-still flavor imparts a very specific character onto this rum that, while decently complex, isn’t all together desirable either. It’s fine, neither too hot nor too spicy,... just a bit too... well, a bit too odd for me to truly appreciate. Sure, I could get used to it and maybe over time I might even come to appreciate it, in the same way one could get used to drinking RC cola and find some redeeming quality in it... but why?

I will say this, the bottle is a nice shape and mine came in a very fine looking tin housing that i find attractive in the collection. Also, I really do genuinely appreciate the fact that this is yet another distinct style of rum that adds to the overall diversity of the spirit.

So, not a sipper for me, but I will try it in some cocktails soon to see if the funk becomes something my mouth can dance to or not. For now, I’m staying out of funky town and I’m not taking anyone else there either.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Dirty Ernie from United States with 2 ratings

I strongly advise you to do what Chaing Kai-Shek used to do when Mao got on his nerves: open a bottle, lean back and Taiwan on.

This is great rum. better than that horse wee-wee Bacardi turns out, especially if you're an actual adult who doesn't drink spiced rum with the bros at the local frat.

And cheap too, an important thing for an old skinflint like me. It's $17.65 US at the Duty Free shop at the Ivy Lea (1000 Islands) Bridge. You can bring in as much as you want as long as you don't go nuts and back a truck up to the loading dock. The American Customs guys will generally let you go with up to 3-4 liters, but even then duty is only $2.80 a bottle. Don't try to lie to them, though because that's another thing entirely.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Keith Brockmiller from United States with 26 ratings

Nice color. If it tastes like it looks that would be great. It doesn't. I don't know what it is about Jamaican rums, they have this cloying. Maybe I'll always be a beginner, reading the other reviews. I can't get past the taste. I gave it away.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by David from Australia with 3 ratings

Purchased this duty free to sip in the Cook Islands.
Worth every cent, not too sweet.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Paul from United States with 6 ratings

This was my first foray into Appleton Estate. This rum reminded me of a bourbon due to the oak. Overall, a nice, warm flavor and less sweet.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Aaron from Canada with 69 ratings

Potent first taste ripe with alcohol infused sugar. Leads to a caramel rich after taste. One of the best rums in my collection when mixed with Coke.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Gym from Canada with 10 ratings

Went the factory in Jamaica. Neat process. Not a real fan of it. Will drink in a pinch.