Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

Appleton Estate 12-Year Rum is a blend of several rums aged between 12 and 18 years in American oak barrels after being distilled using small-batch copper pot stills.

The rum is produced on the Appleton Estate, which sits in the Nassau Valley in Jamaica. The estate’s origins date back as far as 1655 when the English overthrew the Spanish to rule the island and Frances Dickinson, grandfather of the distillery’s founders, received the land as a reward for his role in the overthrow.

7.0/10 (582 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
10
9
36
98
202
174
41
7

Rate Appleton Estate 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


582 Appleton Estate 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 63 ratings

It's classic fruity Jamaica with more spice, wood and long warm aftertaste. Excellent mixer and nice sipper.

Ffffff

Posted 28 days ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 107 ratings

I expected more. Nose I find smoke and ripe fruits. Taste is a bit thin considered it’s at least 12 year old Jamaican. Only light Jamaican flavors are to be found. Bit disappointed as I know Appleton make good rums in general. The cheap price slightly outweighs the thin experience.

Ffffff

Posted at Vienna Restaurant 2 months ago by Jimmy waffles from Canada with 4 ratings

Smooth with hints of sharpness

Backup rum in my.cabinet.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Jirka23689 (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 59 ratings

This rum has a gorgeous dark red-amber colour, and it's smell and taste is rich - sweet and smokey.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 2 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 206 ratings

I often overlook Appleton rum for other brands but each time I try it I find it to be pleasing, and the 12 year old is a quality choice in this age and price point. Will not disappoint. I look forward to trying some of their upper tier rums.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by El Cap from United States with 62 ratings

All-around, considering what may be available at a random liquor store you wander into , this is a good, readily available, delicious rum.

Thumbs up.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 102 ratings

First glass was - OMG, is this a rum or what? And the last was, mmmm, I am gonna see you again baby! It was my first Jamaica rum some time ago, it was not a love on the first sight, but man - this is such a good drink for such good price. The nose is not typically Jamaican funk as you can find in Hampden, it is less filled with esters, it has deeper undertones of oak, fruits and molasses, real pleasure. The taste is smooth yet rich, full of oak, smoke and spice, the aftertaste is long and complex. I got to buy another one to reevaluate :)

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 129 ratings

Každý kto chce začať s Jamajkou,toto môže byť jeho vstupná brána. Základný kúsok od Appletonu, pekný nedosladzovany rum, ktorý by mal každý rumar ochutnať. Nespadnete z neho na kolená,no ani nesklame

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Hefron from Czech Republic with 65 ratings

Výborný suchý, trochu ostřejší rum. Oproti rumům typu Zacapa, Diplomatico není tak sladký a uhlazený. Výrazné rumové aroma s trochou vanilky a dalších tropických chutí a vůní, které lze díky jeho suchosti postupně objevovat.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Acutulus (PREMIUM) from United States with 12 ratings

I don’t understand how this rum is rated so low. The 12 yr old is a combination of aged older rums so Appleton gets a lot of credit for not averaging “up”. The honey gold color (think “bronze”) evidences the American Oak barrel as well as the vanilla. Upon opening your immediately hit by the oak, charred, smokey nose. The mild sweetness confirmed the quality rather than the “smother w/sugar” a number of rum maker default to as a way of hiding mediocre results. This rum is a “Buy” for a great evening of pleasurable sipping.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Redrum from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Really enjoyed this and wished I’d bought two bottles when it was on sale on amazon. Smells like it is going to be quite funky but wasn’t