Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate 12-Year Rum is a blend of several rums aged between 12 and 18 years in American oak barrels after being distilled using small-batch copper pot stills.

The rum is produced on the Appleton Estate, which sits in the Nassau Valley in Jamaica. The estate’s origins date back as far as 1655 when the English overthrew the Spanish to rule the island and Frances Dickinson, grandfather of the distillery’s founders, received the land as a reward for his role in the overthrow.

Rate Appleton Estate 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


548 Appleton Estate 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 6 years ago by niko_aqm from France with 14 ratings

Ce rhum Jamaïcain est fidèle à la tradition des rhums de "tradition anglaise", finement boisé, avec des notes de vanille, de fruits secs, de tabac et d'écorce d'orange, le nez est extrêmement agréable et en bouche c'est très gourmand avec la sucrosité d'un El dorado mais dans une moindre mesure. Parfaitement équilibré, on y revient jusqu'à plus soif !

Posted 11 days ago by Cjbspender from Germany with 32 ratings

This is really not my style, harsh, no balance, poor character. Forget it.

Posted 13 days ago by SveinMagnus from Norway with 21 ratings

The Appleton 12-year is a good sipping rum, but could use some more filtering. It has very alcoholic aromas, and while there is some good oakeyness in the flavour it is also very sharp and raw, which is accentuated by the almost complete lack of sweetness. A bit more sugar would actually make this a much better rum!

Posted 24 days ago by djspark from Australia with 7 ratings

Lon time lover of this one can't count how often I've had it, sweet but not too sweet, great neat or with a mixer (for me either a good spicy ginger beer pref. or coke/pepsi)
The yard stick.

Posted 25 days ago by bigsizzy from United States with 3 ratings

I’m new to the tasting game.. that being said, I’ve tasted a few, and this one is good. There is surely a hit of orange.. I think vanilla is more prominent. Its about as smooth as any, but pretty flavorful.

Posted 26 days ago by Srod from Canada with 10 ratings

C'est un rum classique très très sec il n'y a aucun sucre aucune rondeure en bouche
La couleur est particulièrement magnifique brun très cuivré
Le goût est boisé et fumé avec des pointes végétale sa rappel un peu un scotch l alcool est bien présent
Aux nez sa sent le fût de chêne la fumée de bois et plus subtil un mélange de terre et de végétaux
Les amateurs de rum classique y trouveront sûrment leur compte il pourrait même plaire a certains amateur de scotch

Posted about 1 month ago by scottlalib from United States with 12 ratings

Had the chance to visit the Appleton’s distillery and sample several of their offerings. I enjoyed the 12, very smooth, and yet the flavor profile is closer to your typical mixer. I enjoyed it, but wouldn’t wait in line for seconds.

Posted about 1 month ago by Tom Vlaic from Croatia with 6 ratings

I didn't detect much spice in it, just a lot of dryness.

I also don't understand why a 12 year old rum is packed without a proper cork.
This bottle gut that cheap plastic twist cap.

Not my cup of tea.. erm.. rum.

Posted about 1 month ago by charlierumber from Australia with 5 ratings

Appleton's is a good rum, Appleton 12 year is a great rum. Really balanced and smooth. Gee can't wait to try a bottle of 21 year!!

Posted about 1 month ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 33 ratings

taste - 6.5/10
sweetness - 7/10
price/value rating - 6/10

Posted about 1 month ago by lorenploren from United States with 8 ratings

Appleton has great brand recognition and their mid range rums are dependable. Unfortunately, the 12 year is a real let down. Decent flavor, but harsh with too little to finish. Better to go with Doorlys 12 year or even Bacardi 8.

Posted about 1 month ago by Kasper Meijer from Panama with 29 ratings

I am still not sure what I think of Appleton Estate rums. Have had most of them in Jamaica but couldn't quite get my finger on it. Definitely worth trying but I need more convincing

Posted about 1 month ago by Fco_ignacio from Mexico with 7 ratings

Un buen ron para beberse derecho o en las Rocas. Sabor complejo, se pueden reconocer sabores a frutas maduras como platano, poco amaderado.

Posted about 2 months ago by Andrewofcalgary from Canada with 31 ratings

Fairly good rum but not unless it is on sale, as original price too steep for the quality compared to other available rums.

Posted about 2 months ago by Dedspurs from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

Drunk this couple of times on hol in jamaica, bit of getting use to but ok with coke.

Posted 2 months ago by locorican68 from United States with 24 ratings

This product is ok, but it’s not quite what I was expecting. It’s very warm on the finish and a little dry. This is probably due to the strict regulations in Jamaica when it comes to rum.

Posted 2 months ago by kheiligh (PREMIUM) from United States with 30 ratings

As the de rigeur standard mixer, AE Reserve is a great starter rum. This is that, but better... we love this bottle to keep around for sipping, mixing, sharing, and just about anything. Incredible taste for the price. What more needs to be said? Super happy with this rum.

Posted 3 months ago by Domstadtkerl from Germany with 37 ratings

Günstiger Einstieg in die Jamaika Rums. Noch keine Geschmacksexplosion, aber definitv ein Rum zum pur genießen.
Leicht beißende Nase, viel Würze im Geschmack, leicht süßlicher Nachgeschmack.

Für den Preis ein toller Rum.

Posted 3 months ago by Sc from Canada with 2 ratings

Nice and easy. Too bad it's not as available as it once was

Posted 3 months ago by Sancho from Poland with 8 ratings

I've tried at my bar a lot of Appleton estate products. Its easy to get this, and its in good price as well. Recomended.

Posted 3 months ago by Arik from United States with 23 ratings

molasses, orange peel, caramelized bananas, and brown sugar. There's a slightly burnt wood aroma as well.

Posted 3 months ago by artnoir666 from Sweden with 8 ratings

Taste is full of ripe raison, a deep fruityness to it, almost bitter but sweet on the palette.

Posted 3 months ago by JGiralt from United States with 42 ratings

This will strongly elevate any cocktail. It will also shine brightly on its own.

Posted 3 months ago by ajmchenry from New Zealand with 3 ratings

Fantastic flavour for an aged rum. Not as harsh as a 12 year aged you would expect.

Posted 3 months ago by Rinushorn (PREMIUM) from France with 60 ratings

12 ans étant le rhum le plus jeune. L'assemblage contient des rhums allant jusque 18 ans.
Assez gras mais de belle teneur quand même.
A découvrir pour les néophytes des rums anglais comme moi !