Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate 12-Year Rum is a blend of several rums aged between 12 and 18 years in American oak barrels after being distilled using small-batch copper pot stills.

The rum is produced on the Appleton Estate, which sits in the Nassau Valley in Jamaica. The estate’s origins date back as far as 1655 when the English overthrew the Spanish to rule the island and Frances Dickinson, grandfather of the distillery’s founders, received the land as a reward for his role in the overthrow.

Rate Appleton Estate 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


557 Appleton Estate 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

06e775de3ea659802819e69660ac783b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 10 months ago by je_farley from United States with 103 ratings

Interesting nose with just a bit of a bite at the back end. Not a sipper for me, a bit dry with that bite coming through. Mixed with cola it was very good, full body with a lot of different flavors coming through. Not quite as good with citrus but still
Solid.

This is not a favorite but will keep it around for a change of pace...

63746111f3c261fe96bcb704ce101e4b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Michael Church from United States with 3 ratings

Has the hallmark and signature of a great old estate. I’m glad they got this one right.

7b8c54d27ebf8827e17f7d37051737da.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Dirk from Canada with 39 ratings

From the moment I cracked the bottle I was in love with the aroma.
And the flavour was equally as full bodied. I am not a fan of Appleton estate even though I’m Jamaican way too much burn and not enough flavour very thin. But having now tried the twelve year this has changed my mind and cemented a place in my rum collection, everyone needs this in their cabinet.

C03faf9c20e93210347f549aae569ba8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Diplomatte from Cayman Islands with 16 ratings

Its original Jamaican Rum with amber-dark color and a very rich taste.

I would recommend it to anyone!

Personally I found the after burn a bit too strong, but that mostly depends on personal preference!

D3926934b7c6ca8d8ff6aaeef15e6109.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Emanuel von Wartburg from Switzerland with 9 ratings

Schöne bernstein Farbe. Brennt etwas in der Nase. Im Mund eher rauchig.

F8733ee2ae9902e6dba818f5eade911e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Michael N from United States with 70 ratings

I have tried to like rum from this region and I always end up expecting more. It ranks just ok in my book. Not a very good sipper, neat. Maybe it’s ok on the rocks.

Bd7785b96c7f78411ab181a7db565f44.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Rob Pettigrew from Canada with 22 ratings

I got into tiki drinks in a big way a few years ago. I now make my own syrups and spiced rums at home in fact. Planning a small tiki bar in the basement (in the future). The Mai Tai was my gateway tiki drink. I mix this with a Rhum agricole.

Ef4f0bfb408319515efebcad2f4a3e7a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Scott spencer from United States with 33 ratings

Being want to try this one for awhile
got for Christmas gift really enjoyed
and it is such a easy sipper careful
with this one.

019476c071fd9a9e14faec5003bbcec3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

A bit of citrus, a bit of molasses, strong oak notes with just a slight hint of Jamaican funk. A classic rum that is both a delicious sipper as well as outstanding, albeit more expensive, "dark Jamaican" mixer. If used as a mixer, it will certainly elevate any cocktail or tiki drink that calls for it.

Ab9ccb4fe61ac63aee3f93fd93cd1bc4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Tim from Canada with 56 ratings

Nice aged Jamaican goes will with most anything. Rich and smooth, but it’s funk is toned down somewhat; it’s dry with a slight burn.

8da64c11a144f842232dece5246f6841.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by RumRedRum from United States with 4 ratings

I'm not huge on sippin, but this is super smooth and well balanced. Caramel rich throughout.