Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

Appleton Estate 12-Year Rum is a blend of several rums aged between 12 and 18 years in American oak barrels after being distilled using small-batch copper pot stills.

The rum is produced on the Appleton Estate, which sits in the Nassau Valley in Jamaica. The estate’s origins date back as far as 1655 when the English overthrew the Spanish to rule the island and Frances Dickinson, grandfather of the distillery’s founders, received the land as a reward for his role in the overthrow.

7.0/10 (565 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
10
9
37
94
193
170
40
7

Rate Appleton Estate 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


565 Appleton Estate 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Scott spencer from United States with 33 ratings

Being want to try this one for awhile
got for Christmas gift really enjoyed
and it is such a easy sipper careful
with this one.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tomas from Czech Republic with 16 ratings

Raw strong Jamaica dark rum. I had a bit problem to finish this bottle.

Not my cup of tea / rum :-)

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by M. Geisser from Switzerland with 29 ratings

If I'm in the mood for a rum and coke or a dark and stormy or something similar I like to put this one in charge for the job.
I never drink it neat.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Brian from Denmark with 47 ratings

Tasted it after a Zacapa XO, and it might have been the change from the sweet Zacapa that made it taste differently, but I'll give it a 7 for now, and have a retaste another day.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Mathias from Norway with 15 ratings

This rum smells so good. Heavy vanilla. The taste is not quite as amazing but still holds up really well. A nice, complex, spicy rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Rumrunner95 from United States with 54 ratings

Notes of caramel, vanilla, tobacco, oak. Issue here is oak bears more weight than the other flavors. Also has a bit of chemicals on the nose. This is a whisky/rum hybrid.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Mark Ogilvie from United States with 16 ratings

Appleton Estate (and Jamaican rum in general) may not be for everyone, but it's perfect for me.

Smokey brown sugar, vanilla, and a bit of mango on the nose. It's really pleasant, especially after letting it breathe a little so the alcohol can calm down. The taste that first hits me, especially after coming from a more generic rum, is what I've come to know as the "still funk" that characterizes Jamaica's breed of rum. There's a charred, bitter oakiness that isn't quite smokey, combined with the more iron-like qualities of a dried fruit. It's a bold, bloody, hard to pin down flavor that will either work for you, or it won't. That slowly gives way to some peppery notes, citrus rind, and a medium-bodied, gentle, toffee sweetness that seems to mature and soften for as long as you let it.

Do yourself a favor and skip Appleton's Signature Blend in favor of this. The 12 year is a mature, confrontational, yet gently sweet rum that seems keen to throw you a curve ball with every sip, as long as you keep looking. There's overripe banana, smoke, sometimes maybe apricot? Is that leather? Let me get to the bottom of this glass and I'll let you know for sure.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Amauri from United States with 29 ratings

I tried based on reviews. a little spicy at the end. smooth and easy to drink. I though will be better, one of my first Jamaican rum. Nothing compared to captain Morgan.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 121 ratings

Manque de délicatesse mais très bon pour Santo Libre

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Hugh from South Africa with 3 ratings

For people who don't drink (much) rum the best comparison (to my mind) is bourbon, slightly sweet and quite robust. Nice rum, doesn't get "lost" in a Rum & Coke but still can be drunk neat.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Michael Church from United States with 3 ratings

Has the hallmark and signature of a great old estate. I’m glad they got this one right.