Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate 12-Year Rum is a blend of several rums aged between 12 and 18 years in American oak barrels after being distilled using small-batch copper pot stills.

The rum is produced on the Appleton Estate, which sits in the Nassau Valley in Jamaica. The estate’s origins date back as far as 1655 when the English overthrew the Spanish to rule the island and Frances Dickinson, grandfather of the distillery’s founders, received the land as a reward for his role in the overthrow.

Rate Appleton Estate 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


555 Appleton Estate 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

C03faf9c20e93210347f549aae569ba8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Diplomatte from Cayman Islands with 16 ratings

Its original Jamaican Rum with amber-dark color and a very rich taste.

I would recommend it to anyone!

Personally I found the after burn a bit too strong, but that mostly depends on personal preference!

D3926934b7c6ca8d8ff6aaeef15e6109.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Emanuel von Wartburg from Switzerland with 9 ratings

Schöne bernstein Farbe. Brennt etwas in der Nase. Im Mund eher rauchig.

F8733ee2ae9902e6dba818f5eade911e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Michael N from United States with 70 ratings

I have tried to like rum from this region and I always end up expecting more. It ranks just ok in my book. Not a very good sipper, neat. Maybe it’s ok on the rocks.

Bd7785b96c7f78411ab181a7db565f44.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Rob Pettigrew from Canada with 22 ratings

I got into tiki drinks in a big way a few years ago. I now make my own syrups and spiced rums at home in fact. Planning a small tiki bar in the basement (in the future). The Mai Tai was my gateway tiki drink. I mix this with a Rhum agricole.

Ef4f0bfb408319515efebcad2f4a3e7a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Scott spencer from United States with 33 ratings

Being want to try this one for awhile
got for Christmas gift really enjoyed
and it is such a easy sipper careful
with this one.

019476c071fd9a9e14faec5003bbcec3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

A bit of citrus, a bit of molasses, strong oak notes with just a slight hint of Jamaican funk. A classic rum that is both a delicious sipper as well as outstanding, albeit more expensive, "dark Jamaican" mixer. If used as a mixer, it will certainly elevate any cocktail or tiki drink that calls for it.

Ab9ccb4fe61ac63aee3f93fd93cd1bc4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Tim from Canada with 56 ratings

Nice aged Jamaican goes will with most anything. Rich and smooth, but it’s funk is toned down somewhat; it’s dry with a slight burn.

8da64c11a144f842232dece5246f6841.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by RumRedRum from United States with 4 ratings

I'm not huge on sippin, but this is super smooth and well balanced. Caramel rich throughout.

1567cd0c6f783445408f29fa4c18d800.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Daniel Lindén from Sweden with 60 ratings

Inte så söt rom, ganska mycket fatsmak vilket gör den som perfekt ingrediens till en old fashioned!

Bd699ec3823f2083381bbd0b0c5385f3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Nigel from Netherlands with 4 ratings

I've tasted this back to back with El Dorado's 12 and 15 to compare. I slightly preferred this one over the other two. I just tried to buy another bottle and the webshop sent me the "Rare Blend 12 year" version. They say it's supposed to be the same content in a different bottle... we'll see.