Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

Appleton Estate 12-Year Rum is a blend of several rums aged between 12 and 18 years in American oak barrels after being distilled using small-batch copper pot stills.

The rum is produced on the Appleton Estate, which sits in the Nassau Valley in Jamaica. The estate’s origins date back as far as 1655 when the English overthrew the Spanish to rule the island and Frances Dickinson, grandfather of the distillery’s founders, received the land as a reward for his role in the overthrow.

7.0/10 (577 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
10
9
36
95
200
174
41
7

Rate Appleton Estate 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


577 Appleton Estate 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 63 ratings

It's classic fruity Jamaica with more spice, wood and long warm aftertaste. Excellent mixer and nice sipper.

Ffffff

Posted at Calavera over 2 years ago by Cuvelierl from Belgium with 28 ratings

This rum is easy to drink. Not too woody and not too sweet. Great to sip or in your favourite rum cocktail. So far the best Appleton I tried.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

It's a wonderful mixer all day. But I personally don't feel its a good sipper el dorado 12 is so much nicer and about the same price

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 333 ratings

Too much strong alcohol in aroma and taste for my prefference. Very far feom my favojrite Appleton 21y but of course also less expensive. Similar to Zacapa 23y

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tobs1991 from Germany with 8 ratings

I found the smell quite astonishing, yet the taste could not keep up with it. Considering the price, it is not bad, yet there are better rums out there to enjoy.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Ricardo from Switzerland with 4 ratings

Not as smooth as other rums, in fact at first it feels at but harsh. It is less sweet though. Flavours of oak, almond and coffee. Great aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Daniel Lether from Netherlands with 67 ratings

Had a couple of drinks in the Njoy cocktail bar in amsterdam. They have some nice rums here in general. I had this beautyfull appleton estate in a cocktail, this makes it hard to really taste the rum since i didnt drink it in my regular coke and rum form. Still great cocktail and great rum. I do think i like em i bit sweeter. I might be updating the review when i drink this with coke.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Jiri from Czech Republic with 30 ratings

Surpisingly good rum,definitely less sweet because of no added sugar. Nice colour, little bit alcohol taste at the end and finally lower price compared to peers.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Romin from United States with 1 rating

Does not have a lot of body for a 12 year aged rum and is very peppery; with each sip I feel like I've drank black pepper water that leaves a lot of unnecessary tingling. The flavor is not not bad but not smooth - burning and irritating. Will not buy as a sipping rum; and it's too expensive for mixing.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Doug from Canada with 21 ratings

I was a little disappointed with this one. Not very smooth. Also, not sweet enough for me.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by dwaynews from Canada with 17 ratings

With it's higher abv and oak forward finish this has to appeal to Bourbon drinkers migrating to rum. It's not sweet enough to sip for my preference, but is certainly a fine premium mixer, and priced affordably enough for that purpose.