Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate 12-Year Rum is a blend of several rums aged between 12 and 18 years in American oak barrels after being distilled using small-batch copper pot stills.

The rum is produced on the Appleton Estate, which sits in the Nassau Valley in Jamaica. The estate’s origins date back as far as 1655 when the English overthrew the Spanish to rule the island and Frances Dickinson, grandfather of the distillery’s founders, received the land as a reward for his role in the overthrow.

Rate Appleton Estate 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


548 Appleton Estate 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 5 years ago by Pielor from Canada with 25 ratings

No surprises here, it's a traditionnal rum. Sugarcane, aromas of molasses, bit vanilla, little burning aftertaste, but overall a good spirit. Nothing fancy.

Posted about 5 years ago by Prter Dreier from Denmark with 18 ratings

A classic jamaican pot-still. A little sweet for a jamaican rum, but not flavourfull enough to compensate the taste of alcohol.
Not my kind of rum yet. Would like to try the others from Appleton though.

Posted about 5 years ago by Gareth from Curacao with 93 ratings

its a perfect rum for daily use not expensive just right

Posted about 5 years ago by Cezary from United States with 20 ratings

I like this rum, it's smooth to drone at and mixes nicely with ginger and lime. I don't like the bottle, though. Too feminine.

Posted about 5 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

It's my first Appleton Rum and it's an interesting one. Strong vanilla flavor, oak, coffe or cocoa. Brown sugar or caramel aftertaste. Good suprise and discovery. I hope to taste the 21y and 30y.

Posted about 5 years ago by Rum Ramblings from United States with 7 ratings

On the nose lots of oak with a strong smell of bourbon glue, but still good and complex. Strong and bold mouthfeel. Brown sugars with a bittersweet aftertaste.

Posted about 5 years ago by Matt from United States with 10 ratings

This is a Excellent Rum on the rock . I enjoy all of Appleton' s Rums

Posted about 5 years ago by Border Rum Guy from United States with 64 ratings

To me AE/12 comes to the party and makes it self known. It joins in the conversation not overwhelming it. Your friends know that you've just gone the extra mile to make the evening special.

Posted about 5 years ago by Lanier from Belgium with 11 ratings

It has a strong startup with a long ending.
This is a nice rum, but I prefer the 21 years.
My friends were all very into this rum, but I expected more. A little bit disappointed...

Posted about 5 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

While not hitting the same high notes as the 21 or the estate exclusive, it is still a decent sipping rum. And as the price is much more reasonable, it is a good introduction to the Appleton destillery.

Posted about 5 years ago by Niclas Carlman from Sweden with 77 ratings

Vacker bärnstensfärg.
Fruktig koladoft.
Väldigt besk i smaken, nästan åt whiskey hållet.
Bättre med 4 droppar vatten.

Posted about 5 years ago by guewen from France with 97 ratings

très fruité, boise, arome boise et de fruit sec ! Je recommande !

Posted about 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 2 gpl. Woody with lots of bite and great aroma. You can sip this one, but it needs ice to cut the sharpness a little. Excellent as a mixer as the flavor of the rum adds to whatever you mix it with. It's right up there with Pusser's Navy rum for multiple use.

Posted about 5 years ago by R.Ennell from Canada with 28 ratings

Has enough character to not get lost with the addition of water a/o ice a/o pineapple juice

Posted about 5 years ago by pearl from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

well, first rum i was able to figure out the orange and vanilla in flavour. The taste just got me. I know i drunk alcohol/rum with such a strange sweet after taste - it got me. Had 3 bottles so far and definitelly recommedn this one. Shame it is so hard to buy in Czech republic for reasonable price.
88/100

Posted about 5 years ago by Lars P. Skaarup from United States with 5 ratings

Strong with lots of nuances. Molasses, Citrus and Nutmeg.

Posted about 5 years ago by Bryan Sprang from Denmark with 21 ratings

Beautiful looking color with dark tones of caramel, with hints of oak.

Posted about 5 years ago by gilel from France with 29 ratings

Complexe, boisé, épicé. Assez sec finalement.
Je le comparerais plutôt à un cognac.
Longueur finale un peu juste à mon goût.
Peut-être est-ce que j'en attendais un peu trop...

Posted about 5 years ago by Surfyguitar from United States with 56 ratings

Has more burn than would expect for age, but reasonably complex. Would buy again when on sale.

Posted about 5 years ago by Dijkjes from Netherlands with 13 ratings

In first it's a little bit strong but in your mouth i gets a great taste. Very nice rum for this price

Posted over 5 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

Don't get me wrong, its a very good rum, I was just a little disappointed because my friends talked it up so much. I am glad I tried it but there are others I like better.

Posted over 5 years ago by Dobso from Slovakia with 40 ratings

Naozaj dobrá zmeska. Teším sa na ďalšie stretnutie snim. Chuť výrazne konakova, výraznejšie alkoholova.

Posted over 5 years ago by A from United States with 7 ratings

One of the rums I can enjoy on the rocks. Nice subtle after taste.

Posted over 5 years ago by AP from Finland with 9 ratings

It's been several years since I emptied one, it was strong and some harshness, true rum. I don't remember it been very complex or smooth.
Funny thing I have another bottle but I don't seem to have opportunity to open it, since I always prefer to taste rums that are new to me.
(You can count on Jamaican except Myers, I got headache from one shot)

Posted over 5 years ago by Denis Mazzucato from Italy with 16 ratings

Intenso, elegante, fine e abbastanza complesso.
Non lascia di stucco ma è sempre un bel bere!
Finale abbastanza lungo di legno e fumo, molto piacevole.




#