Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

Appleton Estate 12-Year Rum is a blend of several rums aged between 12 and 18 years in American oak barrels after being distilled using small-batch copper pot stills.

The rum is produced on the Appleton Estate, which sits in the Nassau Valley in Jamaica. The estate’s origins date back as far as 1655 when the English overthrew the Spanish to rule the island and Frances Dickinson, grandfather of the distillery’s founders, received the land as a reward for his role in the overthrow.

7.0/10 (583 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
10
9
36
98
203
174
41
7

Rate Appleton Estate 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


583 Appleton Estate 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Laurent Folichon from Belgium with 37 ratings

Rien d'extraordinaire sauf qu'il représente bien son origine ...je le trouve quelque peu agressif.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 256 ratings

Taste is approaching the 21y old, but without the coconut and the after taste is not as complex. A bit of cocoa powder sedimentation during after taste, which I like.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Berger from France with 28 ratings

a laisser aérer un peu dans le verre avant de boire, bon, on sent bien le fut

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Anthony Soleau from United States with 26 ratings

Overall a very solid rum. I personally can see this making exquisitely unique high end cocktails where the rum is the star! As a neat or sipping rum I feel the 43% alcohol comes off a bit harsh and detracts from the character that I know this rum has.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Örjan from Sweden with 60 ratings

powerful aroma- with a lot of dried fruits and vanilla.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Robert Klein from Israel with 9 ratings

I could give this a 10, but I'd like to leave room for some future amazing dram, not to mention the fact that I haven't tried Appleton's 21 or other specialty offerings. But the 12 is very solid, especially for folks who come from the world of whiskey. Ralfy (if you don't know who that is, you should -- see his reviews on YouTube) put down Ron Zacapa XO because it's only bottled at 40%. At first I felt he was being too knee-jerky about percentages, but over time, I've come to agree that as complex as the Zacapa is, it really doesn't please over the long haul as much as its Appleton and Mount Gay rival XO's. For people who prefer the nuances brought out by the alcohol in a drink, rum's sweetness requires that 43% level to keep it sufficiently sophisticated, IMHO. Appleton 12 has the 43% mark, and it's got plenty of natural verve and flavor to please any serious imbiber. Appleton 12 is a hat-doffer for sure. Enjoy!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Marco Forlani from Italy with 26 ratings

It’s a good molasses rhum, not extremely sweet and not harsh at all. A good and honest product great for fruit cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Ryan Rosebush (PREMIUM) from United States with 36 ratings

I enjoy this rum quite a bit & keep it on hand regularly. That said, it has its place...and that place isn’t sipping.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tibob from France with 25 ratings

Bon rhum, un peu fort comme s'est confrère des Caraibes et boisé.
Sympa a essayer.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Adam from Canada with 3 ratings

It was okay...it was on the bar. Tried it and and tasted okay.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Chris from Germany with 7 ratings

Boaring nothing else! Hands off , a waste of money