Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

Appleton Estate 12-Year Rum is a blend of several rums aged between 12 and 18 years in American oak barrels after being distilled using small-batch copper pot stills.

The rum is produced on the Appleton Estate, which sits in the Nassau Valley in Jamaica. The estate’s origins date back as far as 1655 when the English overthrew the Spanish to rule the island and Frances Dickinson, grandfather of the distillery’s founders, received the land as a reward for his role in the overthrow.

7.0/10 (581 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
10
9
36
97
202
174
41
7

Rate Appleton Estate 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


581 Appleton Estate 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Soweek from Czech Republic with 71 ratings

Personally prefer more fruity tones, but even in comparison with other oaky rums this will not blow your mind. 1 point extra for very fair price.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Drew Stephens from United States with 19 ratings

Appleton Estate 12 is good enough to sip, but primarily enjoyable to those who like some harshness in their rums. It's got a bit of complexity, some spice, no sweetness, and a strong alcohol finish.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Menno from Belgium with 3 ratings

I'm mostly a scotch drinker. But I enjoy a "malternative" like bourbon or rum. This one has some lovely chocolate and toffee notes with some tropical fruit in it. Not overwhelmingly sweet with a bit of a bite. Good stuff!

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Folharth from Canada with 69 ratings

Not bad for 12 years old. Good for rum&coke. Price in Jamaica - 37$ .

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 446 ratings

I like this rum, especially for the low price of only $36.99 (Beltramos 2015)!

It's a tad sweeter than the Appleton 21. Very close to that in taste, but possibly even better. A bit strong for beginners at 43% abv. Notes of oak, almond, vanilla, molasses, and nutmeg. Has a nice smell, and a good aftertaste too!

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by firsthuman from Germany with 25 ratings

Appleton comes in a clear, waisted bottle with a screw cap. It is dark red to brown and has a pleasant sweet smell of vanilla, wood and some fruit. While it is not as sweet as other rums, it has some sweetness on the tongue. It tastes spicy, wood and toffee flavours, as well as ripe fruits and hints of fresh fruity flavours. However, I would prefer it with a less harsh alcohol taste and more sweetness. It finally leaves a nice and warm aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by wiedrzensky from Slovakia with 16 ratings

Sweet aroma, hints of vanilla and licquorice. Smooth on tongue, spicy in finish, overally bit sweet for me but it's acutally nicely ballanced. Good!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Guy from Canada with 11 ratings

J'aime les rum plus sucré mais comme ce Appleton ne se cache pas derriere du sucre pour nous éblouir, on goûte le rum sans artifices ajouté , c'est toutefois plus difficile à apprécier sec comparativement à un Diplomatico exclusiva reserva par exemple!
J'aimerais bien goûter au 21 ans et au 30 ans...le 50 ans j'y rêve mais hors de prix!

Small dreamstime xxl 13822080

Posted 13 hours ago by Evadovec from Czech Republic with 12 ratings

I think good value for this price. Nice surprise, good rum.

Ffffff

Posted 14 days ago by Teufelhunden02 from United States with 2 ratings

Perfect for sipping. This is one of my favorites when I’m tired of the cola thing and just want a clean rum taste. The smokey carmel flavor is perfect for relaxing on the beach.

Ffffff

Posted 23 days ago by Bonandy from Poland with 21 ratings

Mild aroma, slightly sweet. Sharper in taste, palpable 43%