Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

Appleton Estate 12-Year Rum is a blend of several rums aged between 12 and 18 years in American oak barrels after being distilled using small-batch copper pot stills.

The rum is produced on the Appleton Estate, which sits in the Nassau Valley in Jamaica. The estate’s origins date back as far as 1655 when the English overthrew the Spanish to rule the island and Frances Dickinson, grandfather of the distillery’s founders, received the land as a reward for his role in the overthrow.

7.0/10 (577 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
10
9
36
95
200
174
41
7

Rate Appleton Estate 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


577 Appleton Estate 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

Nice every day sipper, not too offending and not too much funk/esters.
Still obviously a Jamaican with some ripe banana flavour!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Drew Stephens from United States with 19 ratings

Appleton Estate 12 is good enough to sip, but primarily enjoyable to those who like some harshness in their rums. It's got a bit of complexity, some spice, no sweetness, and a strong alcohol finish.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Menno from Belgium with 3 ratings

I'm mostly a scotch drinker. But I enjoy a "malternative" like bourbon or rum. This one has some lovely chocolate and toffee notes with some tropical fruit in it. Not overwhelmingly sweet with a bit of a bite. Good stuff!

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Folharth from Canada with 69 ratings

Not bad for 12 years old. Good for rum&coke. Price in Jamaica - 37$ .

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 447 ratings

I like this rum, especially for the low price of only $36.99 (Beltramos 2015)!

It's a tad sweeter than the Appleton 21. Very close to that in taste, but possibly even better. A bit strong for beginners at 43% abv. Notes of oak, almond, vanilla, molasses, and nutmeg. Has a nice smell, and a good aftertaste too!

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by firsthuman from Germany with 25 ratings

Appleton comes in a clear, waisted bottle with a screw cap. It is dark red to brown and has a pleasant sweet smell of vanilla, wood and some fruit. While it is not as sweet as other rums, it has some sweetness on the tongue. It tastes spicy, wood and toffee flavours, as well as ripe fruits and hints of fresh fruity flavours. However, I would prefer it with a less harsh alcohol taste and more sweetness. It finally leaves a nice and warm aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by wiedrzensky from Slovakia with 16 ratings

Sweet aroma, hints of vanilla and licquorice. Smooth on tongue, spicy in finish, overally bit sweet for me but it's acutally nicely ballanced. Good!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Guy from Canada with 11 ratings

J'aime les rum plus sucré mais comme ce Appleton ne se cache pas derriere du sucre pour nous éblouir, on goûte le rum sans artifices ajouté , c'est toutefois plus difficile à apprécier sec comparativement à un Diplomatico exclusiva reserva par exemple!
J'aimerais bien goûter au 21 ans et au 30 ans...le 50 ans j'y rêve mais hors de prix!

Ffffff

Posted 7 days ago by Teufelhunden02 from United States with 2 ratings

Perfect for sipping. This is one of my favorites when I’m tired of the cola thing and just want a clean rum taste. The smokey carmel flavor is perfect for relaxing on the beach.

Ffffff

Posted 17 days ago by Bonandy from Poland with 19 ratings

Mild aroma, slightly sweet. Sharper in taste, palpable 43%

Ffffff

Posted 21 days ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 106 ratings

I expected more. Nose I find smoke and ripe fruits. Taste is a bit thin considered it’s at least 12 year old Jamaican. Only light Jamaican flavors are to be found. Bit disappointed as I know Appleton make good rums in general. The cheap price slightly outweighs the thin experience.