Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate 12-Year rum
Appleton Estate 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

Appleton Estate 12-Year Rum is a blend of several rums aged between 12 and 18 years in American oak barrels after being distilled using small-batch copper pot stills.

The rum is produced on the Appleton Estate, which sits in the Nassau Valley in Jamaica. The estate’s origins date back as far as 1655 when the English overthrew the Spanish to rule the island and Frances Dickinson, grandfather of the distillery’s founders, received the land as a reward for his role in the overthrow.

7.0/10 (555 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
10
9
36
93
188
167
41
6

Rate Appleton Estate 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


555 Appleton Estate 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

019476c071fd9a9e14faec5003bbcec3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

A bit of citrus, a bit of molasses, strong oak notes with just a slight hint of Jamaican funk. A classic rum that is both a delicious sipper as well as outstanding, albeit more expensive, "dark Jamaican" mixer. If used as a mixer, it will certainly elevate any cocktail or tiki drink that calls for it.

D585d875b7201cd718e99ca930aea97d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Tobs1991 from Germany with 8 ratings

I found the smell quite astonishing, yet the taste could not keep up with it. Considering the price, it is not bad, yet there are better rums out there to enjoy.

40e3688f03d81ca3bb3b614408fd22f4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Ricardo from Switzerland with 4 ratings

Not as smooth as other rums, in fact at first it feels at but harsh. It is less sweet though. Flavours of oak, almond and coffee. Great aftertaste.

404c723f2b945eadf63066e9baea685e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Daniel Lether from Netherlands with 65 ratings

Had a couple of drinks in the Njoy cocktail bar in amsterdam. They have some nice rums here in general. I had this beautyfull appleton estate in a cocktail, this makes it hard to really taste the rum since i didnt drink it in my regular coke and rum form. Still great cocktail and great rum. I do think i like em i bit sweeter. I might be updating the review when i drink this with coke.

061740bf2f4f157ad7c77db7cbb747f0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Jiri from Czech Republic with 29 ratings

Surpisingly good rum,definitely less sweet because of no added sugar. Nice colour, little bit alcohol taste at the end and finally lower price compared to peers.

35361a81b6ad29ae79ac1d2ec9e84186.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Romin from United States with 1 rating

Does not have a lot of body for a 12 year aged rum and is very peppery; with each sip I feel like I've drank black pepper water that leaves a lot of unnecessary tingling. The flavor is not not bad but not smooth - burning and irritating. Will not buy as a sipping rum; and it's too expensive for mixing.

751882498f7933bcd41d7e38cd3113fe.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Doug from Canada with 21 ratings

I was a little disappointed with this one. Not very smooth. Also, not sweet enough for me.

F69dc6bcecc53829357d77ca653ee184.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by dwaynews from Canada with 17 ratings

With it's higher abv and oak forward finish this has to appeal to Bourbon drinkers migrating to rum. It's not sweet enough to sip for my preference, but is certainly a fine premium mixer, and priced affordably enough for that purpose.

Ee16bb421fcc7f60ca214ec514c0259d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Matt Coast from Finland with 30 ratings

For some odd reason I didn't really liked this rhum. It was a little too harsh. Like a petrol, coolant liquid or something...
Maybe I should give a second chance to this one on some day.

97a7947741bd0c4f262d7488da804c43.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by stefan from Canada with 50 ratings

On the nose I had given this a 7 -very pleasant but on the mouth got the usual Appleton sweet flavor and burn. For this I had given it a 5. Again with most Appleton's it is best as a mixing rum. Although it deserves a try with water or let it sit for 30 minutes or so to tone down the burn.

C5ab870fab8c05c1b2f73a9ca43fa0cf.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Tomas from Czech Republic with 16 ratings

Raw strong Jamaica dark rum. I had a bit problem to finish this bottle.

Not my cup of tea / rum :-)