Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged

Appleton Estate 12-Year Rum is a blend of several rums aged between 12 and 18 years in American oak barrels after being distilled using small-batch copper pot stills.

The rum is produced on the Appleton Estate, which sits in the Nassau Valley in Jamaica. The estate’s origins date back as far as 1655 when the English overthrew the Spanish to rule the island and Frances Dickinson, grandfather of the distillery’s founders, received the land as a reward for his role in the overthrow.

7.0/10 (565 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
10
9
37
94
193
170
40
7

Rate Appleton Estate 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


565 Appleton Estate 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

A bit of citrus, a bit of molasses, strong oak notes with just a slight hint of Jamaican funk. A classic rum that is both a delicious sipper as well as outstanding, albeit more expensive, "dark Jamaican" mixer. If used as a mixer, it will certainly elevate any cocktail or tiki drink that calls for it.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by ripperussr from Czech Republic with 98 ratings

On the first try I smell a lot of cocoa. Average taste, no special signature.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by DucksFan16 from United States with 52 ratings

Compared 12 yr vs 21 yr. 12 smelled very alcoholic, almost like gasoline and not very pleasant or refined. The 21 smelled much more complex and delicious. The taste of both of them was very similar, but the 21 was much smoother and refined. Diplomatico exclusiva was still much better than both of these. 12 - 75+. 21 - 85+

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Nonkel Danny from Belgium with 10 ratings

Prachtige kleur en een heerlijke rum om puur te drinken, zeer smaakvol.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Zane from Norway with 49 ratings

It alright. On the whiskey sid of rums. Oily. Not my stuff. But not too bitty.

At Tweed, Stockholm, 2019

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Hanreb1 from United States with 9 ratings

Just the right of rum funk to be interesting without being overpowering. Excellent in a dark and stormy as a funky alternative.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Lutz536 from Germany with 9 ratings

Better then the Reserve Blend or Signature Blend - mild and softer

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by CaptainTribble from United States with 6 ratings

Goes down rather bitter. Otherwise a good rum. Probably not my first choice in this range. My palate may be off on this one, but it tastes oddly similar to The Real McCoy. Not nearly as smooth though. All that said, it's far from being bad.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Backwatertech from United States with 11 ratings

First sipping rum I ever tried. I do recall a little after bite with this one. But I’d definitely buy more.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Samuelsbay from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Delicious on its own or over ice. Makes me proud to be Jamaican.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by jwbono from United States with 11 ratings

Picked some up while passing through Jamaica and enjoyed it. It’s nothing super special or rare so not the highest rating, but you could do a lot worse.