Posting your rating...
Brugal Leyenda rum

Brugal Leyenda

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.3/10 (97 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
5
11
12
39
26

Rate Brugal Leyenda

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


97 Brugal Leyenda ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 212 ratings

Sweet rum with a lot of burned sugar. This is a very intensive taste, but it's very unbalanced. And the spice is intensifying this disbalance.
Remains too sweet in the aftertaste, thats why I can't indicate which barrels were used.
I would prefer the Botucal / Diplomatice Reserva Exclusiva in terms of price and taste.
This rum would be much better with less sugar.

Smell: caramel, vanilla, burnt sugar, dried fruit, sherry/cherry, sweetness, some barrel.
I like this combination of flavors, you can find them in some rums, but something special is still missing.

Taste: strong sweetness, caramel, a lot of burnt sugar, raisins, some spice, remains very sweet on the palate (which indicates added sugar), very slight bitterness, some wood, chocolate, cherry
Sweet aftertaste, slow and nice burn.

Country: DomRep
Age: 10
Barrels: Double-aged, American white oak (bourbon) after that Spanish red oak barrels (sherry)
Material: Molasses
Interesting: blended with water of the mountain springs of Puerto Plata

Sweetness: 4/5
Spice: 3/5
Fruit: 3/5
Mildness: 3.5/5
Value (49€): 1.5/5

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Thomas from Switzerland with 1 rating

This rum can't be described. It tastes all you want to taste. I had a tast orgasm the first time I drank it.

Its smell is sweet and makes you feel so quiet before drinking it, so you can savor this rum from Brugal.

Listen to the sound the cork make when you open it in 4 little weak times, and you'll laugh of pleasure !

Repûblica Dominicana is one of the best place for gold and black rums.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Bernie from Germany with 28 ratings

Die Firma Brugal hat mit diesem Rum dem Gründervater Don Andrés Brugal Montaner ein Denkmal gesetzt.
Der 10 Jahre alte Rum reift zuerst 8 Jahre in alten Sherryfässern, wird dann umgefüllt in amerikanische Bourbonfässer, um seine perfekte Ausgewogenheit und Balance zu bekommen.
Der Geschmack ist eine Mischung aus Karamell und Honig mit Nuancen aus Vanille sowie leichtem Ansatz von Sherry. Er ist extrem weich vom Geschmack, ein Rum der unbedingt pur getrunken werden sollte. Für diesen Preis das beste was ich je getrunken habe.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2654 ratings

Enjoyed the entire bottle of Brugal Leyenda while vacationing in Santo Domingo. The Brugal Legend is $18 per bottle. Amazing value if you ask me! The color is darker than so much more expensive Siglo de Oro. Smell is extremely sweet, and plenty of raisins and toffee. Taste has plenty of exciting flavors going on with raisins, vanilla and toffee taking the top place. No burn at the end, just a very nice smooth finish. At Punta Cana airport, the exact same bottle of Leyenda which was $18-20 on every single grocery store happens to be $32 at the airport tax free store. How disappointing to rip off tourists like that.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Brad from United States with 27 ratings

Picked this up in duty free shop in Amber Cove. Had read good things about it and it did not disappoint! Very subtle aroma with no harsh alcohol scent. In the mouth it's like rum satin; it just slides over the tongue and down the throat. No burn or harshness at all. Flavors of spices and vanilla and a little oakiness with a hearty dose of caramelized banana. Delicious! I would have given it a 10, but there was another flavor mixed in that, while not harsh, didn't seem to fit to me and took away from the overall flavor a bit. Overall, an exceptionally delightful rum that I wish I had bought more of!

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

I tried this side by side with the more expensive (and slightly lower rated as of this review) Siglo De Oro. I liked the Siglo De Oro in that it is 40% abv, while this is a relatively weaker 38%. But the Leyenda has more spice and sweetness, and simply tastes better to me, so I'll give this the edge, and it is a high '9' to me.

Smells and tastes of caramel, spice, oak, and honey. Very good for the price of only $57 (2017).

Ffffff

Posted 11 days ago by Wil Santos from United States with 1 rating

Let's be honest. We all have that family member that was always the cool or misunderstood guy, rebelious that your whole family thinks that he is bad news, but you low key , you kinda dig it...!!! you think that he might be right and let the guy live because you are not fucking perfect ???....that is RUM, that cool guy that might not be as refined and traditional as scotch ...but it's time to divide the pie.This rum is ALL that. period.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Oxv1327 from United States with 6 ratings

This was my first experience with sipping rums and so it's the one I use to measure all others. This rum is very hard to come by, but if you do it's one of the best bargains you will find. Do not leave Dominican Republic without it!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Dave from Czech Republic with 18 ratings

Rum zakoupen přímo v obchodě Brugal po prohlídce rum factory za 17 usd (!). Je to jeden z nejlepších rumu, co jsem kdy pil. Je 11-ti lety, chutove vyrazny, sladší, ale ta sladkost není protivna. Rozhodne stojí za zakoupení a doporučuji ho.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by John from United States with 2 ratings

Drink it straight. This is a classy drink; all your friends will appreciate it as something of quality.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Achim Emmenegger from Germany with 67 ratings

Im Urlaub in der dominikanischen Republik bin ich zufällig auf díesen tollen Rum für lächerliche 22 USD gestossen.
Er hat eine feine Würze verbunden mit einer angenehmen Süsse und einen recht langen Abgang.Für das junge Alter von nur 10 Jahren unglaublich,Normalerweise ist Brugal gar nicht mein Fall aber in Anbetracht des auch noch so günstigen Preises gebe ich 9 Punkte