Posting your rating...
El Dorado 1980 25-Year rum

Rate El Dorado 1980 25-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


18 El Dorado 1980 25-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 7 years ago by Mike McPhee from Canada with 13 ratings

I have had a bottle of the 1980 distilled El Dorado for a couple years now. It is unique and a little complicated. We still have a difficult time isolating all the flavours but it so enjoyable we don't worry about it too much. Undoubtedly this is something you do not mix with. As I do with most drinks, I prefer it on the rocks but straight up is fine as well. Smooth going down but try to savour it before it does. I don't drink it too often as it price tag is steep but for a special occasion I reach for this every time.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Well over 1,800 aged dark rums enjoyed and El Dorado 25 year is easily on my Top 10 list. It is sublime, super smooth, like molten chocolate, no burn at all and contains plenty of amazing flavors. I tried this amazing rum the first time at the Marriott hotel in Georgetown Guyana and have enjoyed it several times since that. One word describes this rum: Superb!

Detailed scoring analysis:
10/100 Packaging, bottle and label design 10
10/100 Color of this rum 10
15/100 Nose test 14
20/100 Palate test 20
15/100 Afterburn of this rum 15
15/100 Availability to purchase this rum 4
15/100 Ultimate value for money 2
Total score 75

Posted over 3 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

Honestly flavours cannot comprehend how good of a rum this is ... El Dorado stands for liquid gold and this is the holy grail ... I would own a 1000 bottles if I could

Posted over 4 years ago by Nick Michaelsen from Denmark with 18 ratings

I have looked at this rum since I started my rum adventure, and I really wanted to taste this back then but it was to expensive. After some years and thoughts I choosed to buy a bottle, and thank god for that!! I have never experinced such a intense rum like this (and I have tried a LOT of rums).
In the nose I find notes as chocolate, brown sugar, butter, and a spicy pebber note, and it is just very deep and intense so you just want to sid with your nose in the glass all the time. The taste is even better than the smell and offers notes as caramel, chocolate, brown sugar, molasse, oak and a little coffee.
This is a true pleassure to drink and a experience that you wouldn't find in much other rums. I know the price is high, but if you love rum it is worth every penny!

Posted about 5 years ago by Grand Master Jay from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

This is truly a premium rum. The packaging and the rum itself are fantastic. This is an exceptionally smooth rum, tasty with no after burn. It's sweet with rich chocolate taste balanced with the demerara sugar taste too.

Its something that you treat yourself to once in your life time as at this price its a costly thing to buy.

I'd not buy it again due to the price. I think for value to money I'd rather have its younger brother or the English Harbour 25.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jack from Canada with 27 ratings

The bottle, the smell, the taste. All amazing. Only down side is I only have one bottle of it.

Posted over 3 years ago by Achim Emmenegger from Germany with 66 ratings

Ganz klar ein toller Rum aber bei Preisen in 2016 mit 600 Euro ganz klar zu teuer,Im Vergleich zum 1986er deutlich besser und runder,Im Glas eine viel schönere dunklere Farbe und auch die bessere Nase als der 86er.
Wenn ich aber einenZacapa black Label im direkten Vergleich verkoste schmeckt allen Teilnehmern der black Label besser und hier bekomme ich im Moment noch 2 Flaschen für das Geld.
Davon abgesehen ist die 1980er Abfüllung sowieso nur noch sehr schwer zu bekommen

Posted over 3 years ago by Robert C. from Canada with 6 ratings

Smooth, tasty, hint of vanilla. It is the ideal rum to demonstrate what a rum should taste like neat.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Diana Roberts from Canada with 4 ratings

This is the first El Dorado rum that i had tasted and it pretty much ruined me for any other rum.
I have now been gifted with a 25 Year Limited Edition and i am savoring every drop.I had to rate it as a 10, because i have ranted about this rum for years.

Posted about 4 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

Like the millennium edition, the 1980 is as close to rum perfection as you can get. Smooth and balanced, rich and complex. The price is commensurate with the experience.

Posted over 4 years ago by Kenneth Olesen from Denmark with 77 ratings

This is so delightful that it makes the angels sing. Nose is so inviting.. Taste is sweet, warm, and so elegant in its expression that I simply can't figure any person who would not be able to enjoy this.. Rum drinker or not.
Personally I think this is perfect, even though its so elegant, almost fragile.
The price however is still crazy, but a delight to have tasted. Thank you.

Posted about 5 years ago by Niels Lairitzen from Denmark with 11 ratings

I think I just had a rumgasm. Normally I prefer the more powerful rums, but there is no denying that this just tastes fantastic.

Posted over 5 years ago by James Young from United Kingdom with 21 ratings

The best rum I have ever tried! I was lucky to try it at the uk rumfest 2014 and it was exceptional! So smooth and full of flavour! Still very tempted to buy a bottle!

Posted 4 months ago by Shelman from Canada with 5 ratings

Picked it up duty free at Piarco Airport in Trinidad. Extremely smooth, very easy to drink. At $300 US it is definitely not something I will buy often, but every now and again you must indulge. Here are rums out there that cost 50,000 a bottle, and I can't imagine they taste any better than this.

Posted 8 months ago by Mchammer65 from United Kingdom with 1 rating

I have been drinking Rum for 30 years. This is in my top two without a doubt. The flavours are super subtle, there is really no after burn or harshness. I tasted flavours of sultanas, figs sand mild oak. Best to enjoy this with friends and straight up - no ice. As others have said, only downside is just one in my collection.

Posted over 1 year ago by Mark N from Netherlands with 18 ratings

I feel priviliged that I had the opportunity to have 1 sip of this nectar. the oak taste stuck with me for 24 hours and I can't get it out of my mind ever since. 600 eur for a bottle, if you can find it at all, is slightly over my budget unfortunately.

Posted over 2 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: Estimated at 45 GPL which makes for a very sweet rum, but it's so good! The El Dorado flavour profile of Oak, Vanilla, caramel, spice, and smoke are all present and accounted for, and on a side note, I also tasted a bit of orange and chocolate. Overall this rum has the complexity of flavour you expect from high end and high cost rums.
There is no harshness to this rum, and it goes down far too smooth but the good thing is that the flavours linger on your palate for a long time after. Savour this rum and take your time, or the flavour train will be gone too soon. One of the smoothest rums I have had the pleasure to taste. Put this rum on your bucket list as it is a top shelf rum.

Posted about 6 years ago by alberto from Italy with 2 ratings

It's a perfect blend of rums aged at least 25 years.The alcohol is well balanced.Intense and enveloping