Posting your rating...
El Dorado 21-Year rum

El Dorado 21-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 21 is produced near the equator in Guyana by Demerara distillery. The final product is a blend of rums, aged between 21 and 25 years and crafted using 100% locally sourced Demerara sugar. Traditional tools are used in the distilling processes including three unique wooden stills. The rums rest until maturity in 45 gallon oak casks.

8.4/10
376 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
12
42
106
163
46

Rate El Dorado 21-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

376 El Dorado 21-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Achim Emmenegger from Germany with 70 ratings

Klasse Eldorado mit passendem Preis,auch der 12 und 15 jährige sind Klasse und ich habe mir einige Flaschen auf die Seite gelegt,Wer weiss wie sich die Qualitäten entwickeln bei den weltweit stark steigenden Rum Absätzen.Zum regelmässigen Genuss absolut geeignet da mit 70-80 Euro der Preis absolut in Ordnung geht ,nur beim Centenario 20 oder 25 aus Costa Rica ist das PLV noch besser.
Die 25 jährigen Abfüllungen mit 5 -10 fachem Preis sind nur unwesentlich besser und den Mehrpreis nicht wert

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Pielor from Canada with 25 ratings

A truly great rum. So many things in it's aromas. I like the "thickness " in it. It is smooth, yet warm, it is dark in color it tastes fruity to me. It is expensive but you have to get a bottle once.

Small 8a83c559 fe5a 41c3 8e6d 00e896ede43d

Posted over 6 years ago by James Young from United Kingdom with 21 ratings

So much flavour!! Long lingering finish, super smooth and very complex it's close to being my favourite rum!!

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Owen from Canada with 9 ratings

Lets be very clear about the difference between aging rum vs whisky; Whisky is aged in very cool conditions creating a slow process with vary little evaporation and maturity comes very slowly. It cannot be aged too long in my opinion. Rum ages in very different conditions being very warm with a tremendous amount of evaporation further concentrating the flavours into the remaining fluid. Aging rum creates high loss for the distiller driving the cost even higher but I feel it is possible to age rum too long. Another aspect of rum is that there is no industry standard for the age designation; a 7 year rum may have aged fully fledged in a cask; be blended with other rums; be Solera aged in a pour through method; or be cooked up in a back room over donkey poo... 'they' really need to standardize it for the good of the industry (whoever 'they' are). I suggest to not read anything into age statements and judge the rum "as is" but you will likely pay according to the age. That being said, this is a fantastic aged rum and I guess it is largely made up of rums aged for 21 years in a dark cool Guyana warehouse; perhaps blended by the master to achieve the balance he is after. Fair enough! The dark complexities make it worth the price which ran ~CAD$90. As their premier product the bottle could carry a bit more elegance over the other El Dorados so that brought it down a notch to a 8.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Simon Richard from Canada with 15 ratings

Un des meilleurs de ma collection.
One the best, must have.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Da'rum from Germany with 22 ratings

Superb, I like this rum the best of the the 12, 15 and 21. The thing that puts it in front of the 12 and 15 is the smoky finish and slightly drier body. I love cigars and this rum with a nice cigar is a match made in heaven. A very smooth and very well made rum. The only downside is the price.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by BoD from Canada with 7 ratings

I was gifted a bottle of 21 y/o El Dorado. It was the 1st aged bottle I had tried. As a Scotch drinker (on the rocks or neat) I wasn't overly impressed, but still good. To me, the over 12 rums are very smooth but seem to lack the character of the 12 y/o. Not sure I'd buy it again for the $$$.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Pure_Taste from Denmark with 6 ratings

El Dorado 21 years is certainly one of my favourit rums. It's well balanced and has certain notes that I cannot find in other rums, so far. Fully recommended

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Andrewofcalgary from Canada with 91 ratings

Hits like an oak log but finishes like pancake syrup without the maple. Cant say its a giant leap from the other El Dorado products and therefore I question the substantial price difference.

Small img 1323

Posted 8 months ago by Simson from Czech Republic with 49 ratings

Bottle: Classic El Dorado shape, which I really like.
Color: Beautiful dark mahogany.
Aroma: Vanilla, dark chocolate, caramel and a little wood.
Taste: It is soft, but too whiskey for me. I probably should have allowed the rum to stand more or drip some water into it. The taste was dominated by caramel and especially dark chocolate.
The aftertaste is long and intense.
Most reviews rate this rum very high, but I was quite (even given the price) disappointed. The color and especially the aroma greatly exceeded the impression of the taste. I expected a slightly sweeter taste. If you like drier rums, you will probably be satisfied.

Overall rating: 8,5 out of 10

Small img 20201027 192004

Posted 9 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 107 ratings

Ver 1.0: pour the glass, drink right away. Some strange alcohol will bug you. Score 8.
Ver 2.0: let's it breath for a while, 7min for instance. All the bouquet opened. One part of oak, one of demerara sugar, 7 of dates, ecsotic fruits and 1 part of pure magic. Scored 10.
Ел ДоРадость!