Posting your rating...
El Dorado 21-Year rum

El Dorado 21 is produced near the equator in Guyana by Demerara distillery. The final product is a blend of rums, aged between 21 and 25 years and crafted using 100% locally sourced Demerara sugar. Traditional tools are used in the distilling processes including three unique wooden stills. The rums rest until maturity in 45 gallon oak casks.

Rate El Dorado 21-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


328 El Dorado 21-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by David from United States with 11 ratings

Very nice to drink. Nuttiness and Carmel are the major overtones. Easy to drink. Slight alcohol burn but very very light and extremely quickly residing. Easy and mellow rum with a very light almost no kick. I like!

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 121 ratings

Bon rhum de dégustation, j'ai goûté à mieux pour moins chers.

Posted about 2 months ago by Forbzie from Canada with 4 ratings

I expected this to be a mature version of the 12 or 15 but strangely it had a completely different profile. It had more of a fruit taste with hints of earthiness. It’s profile was closer to rye than rum.

I just cracked it open so I hope to post a better 2nd review.

Posted 2 months ago by locorican68 from United States with 24 ratings

The first time I tried this was with a good friend and we were puzzled by a specific element in the aroma and palate in this rum. After a few tries, we determined that it was the tobacco. El Dorado 21 had a very distinct tobacco element that I never experienced on other runs like Zacapa XO, or Appleton Estate 21. Overall, this is a great rum. Superb aroma, dark chocolate and tobacco.

Posted 3 months ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 65 ratings

Very good taste. .

Posted 3 months ago by mmciesielski from United States with 22 ratings

Thick, molassesy sweet rum. Good flavors, notes of wood and vanilla. This one is a dessert rum. Might be a bit much out in the hot sun

Posted 4 months ago by carl from United States with 24 ratings

Very good sipping rum, but not as good as I would have expected based on the price. After reading the other reviews I am interested in trying the 15 year next time.

Posted 4 months ago by Rhun from United States with 11 ratings

I had the good fortune of a taste of this at a friend’s house. It is one of the best rums I’ve ever had. There are hints of all kinds of flavours: vanilla, plum, cinnamon. It has no burn and a great aftertaste. This is definitely a sipping rum that screams Caribbean!

Posted 4 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

This is definitely a dosage bottle but I'd say 15 > 21 > 12. I sip it or occasionally use in a cocktail

Posted 4 months ago by Isegal from Germany with 81 ratings

Again different to the 15 years old, but very good

Posted 5 months ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 42 ratings

This is a fine rum but i would say it's pretty much on the same level as the 15 year and not a big step above. The 15 year arguably has a slightly better finish but the taste of the 21 year is just ever so slightly superior. Nice oak barrel taste going on! You can definitely own both as they are different but i wouldn't say one is better than the other.

Posted 5 months ago by Akshjps from Netherlands with 5 ratings

I bought this rum together with the plantation xo, just to give it a try. Was not disappointed!
Nice bottle, sweet smell. No burning sensation, very smooth.
Has a mild taste of raw sugarcane that took me back to my childhood.
Would definitely recommend!

Posted 5 months ago by henkbolk from Netherlands with 7 ratings

Good, but then the 15 years is also good!
Quite a price difference.

Posted 5 months ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 118 ratings

I rate it the same score as 15y. I would not say it is better than 15y.. its different. Its little bit smoother and creamy. On the nose you can feel tobaccoo, caramel and coffee. In the mouth flavours of vanilla, tobacco, oak and fruit. Not sure about the price... but my rating is based all about taste.

Posted 5 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 97 ratings

Naozaj chutný rum. Možno som po ochutnaní 12YO a 15YO čakal o čosi viac. Je výborný,ale v danej cenovej kategórii pre mňa nie top. Cítiť tropické tóny,jemnú drevitost a je naozaj plný chuti.

Posted 6 months ago by Samurdavidov from Latvia with 60 ratings

Price ~110 euro in Europe per bottle

“With a little help from my friends”, just like in song from Beatles.
Thank you,

This one is Guayana Rum (north part of the South America), from very historical important region - Demerara. But not about this region I wonted to talk today. Mostly I want focus on El dorado now and say two things about this Rum. One bad and one good. The good one that a number what you find on bottle is correct, it is the youngest age of rum you can find in bottle. This is fair politics in ‘Demerara distillers’. The second thing is that in the rum was added sugar. In ED 12 and ED 15 much more, than it is in 21 years old, but anyway I don’t agree with that fact.
But however, this El dorado 21 is very good! So be sure, you don’t feel this sweet additions from sugar here!

Color: 7;7,5-10 to darkest

Nose: deep, rich, caramel, bitter black chocolate, smoke notes, toffee, vanilla.

Palate: it tastes not as sweet as when you smell it. Very rich and complex. There is so much... it’s like you finish small puzzle before with some 10 pieces and now you take this El Dorado 21, and here is much more, hundreds of pieces... you need time and patience to “open your palate now”.
At start with first sips I found it little bit oily. Molasses, ginger, notes of spice and wood prevail in your mouth.

Very smooth and long aftertaste. It just like wave what covers you in “slow motion”. Again smooth, leather, dry, and finish with spices.

Posted 6 months ago by Pudley from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

I was expecting a smooth ride. Strong flavour but harsh after taste.

Posted 6 months ago by Melo from Italy with 1 rating

Sono rimasto sorpreso da ciò che questo rum può offrire. All'olfatto è mielato/fruttato, al palato al primo impatto può sembrare un po' troppo legnoso con una marcata nota affumucata ma si fa tubito strada un finale davvero delizioso di sentori di caffè e cioccolato che risulta molto persistente. Un rum davvero valido, senza dubbio da provare almeno una volta. Io sono alla seconda bottiglia e chissà che non arriveri la terza!

Posted 6 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 224 ratings

Skvělý kousek, kdo má v oblibě El Dorado bude nadšený, velká dobrota!

Posted 7 months ago by The_Earl from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

Smooth, deep with a lasting honey aftertaste. Best served neat

Posted 7 months ago by Mike Pooch from United States with 35 ratings

I am a huge fan of the 12...I have also enjoyed a bottle of single barrel, which is excellent. The 21 is definitely more oaky, with a huge flavor character of caramel, spices, plum, fruit, and vanilla. Definitely better neat. It’s not as sweet as the 12, which I actually like as a change of pace, still a smokey Demerara but definitely closer to a nice scotch.

Posted 8 months ago by Vicke from Sweden with 62 ratings

This is actually a very good rum. Well balanced and so on, but it is not my kind of rum. I actually think the 15y is a better alternative from a pure taste perspective.

Posted 8 months ago by Tirekicker from Canada with 3 ratings

My immediate thought after first tasting was like a mild whiskey. Flavors are nice after the initial mild kick but it's not for me at this price point.

Posted 9 months ago by Miroslav from Slovakia with 32 ratings

El Dorado, 12r niečo super, 15r fantastický, človek by čakal stúpajúcu tendenciu ale dostane trošku iný smer. Výborný rum, viac sladkosti a sud na úrovni koňaku. Strata svojej korenistej línie na úkor veku. Ale inak fantastické pitie ak nečakáte postupnosť 12-15-21.

Posted 9 months ago by Hector from United States with 59 ratings

I have tasted $30 and $40 rums that are way more complex and better tasting than this. Is good but not great, for that price I was expecting a more viscous spirit with a longer finish and better flavor. Not worth then money, if you like El Dorado rums stick to the 15 years, its a lot better in my opinion.