Posting your rating...
El Dorado 21-Year rum

El Dorado 21-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 21 is produced near the equator in Guyana by Demerara distillery. The final product is a blend of rums, aged between 21 and 25 years and crafted using 100% locally sourced Demerara sugar. Traditional tools are used in the distilling processes including three unique wooden stills. The rums rest until maturity in 45 gallon oak casks.

8.4/10
371 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
12
39
104
163
46

Rate El Dorado 21-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

371 El Dorado 21-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Graham from United States with 14 ratings

The best of the brand I've had. It's smooth and showcases the best of Guyana

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Vince from Canada with 57 ratings

El Dorado rums are classics, but the 21 years is distinguished by an exceptional taste that elevates the standards of rum to the best I've had the chance to taste. Unlike other rums, it is assembled with a minimum of 21 years old rums and not, as usual, containing at least the oldest at 21 years old (solera). From Guyana, it is aged in oak barrels and distilled in over 200 years old wooden stills. Knowing these technical details it is easier to understand the wealth behind this rum. Just the bronze color and even with the slowly running legs on the glass, we can guess the aging of more than two decades. Iin the mouth it is dry with oak aromas, spices (vanilla, cinnamon) and brown sugar. A small smoked aroma packs all, in a almost perfect harmony. In the final, vanilla dominates, but a little chocolate taste is also present. From beginning to end there is no burn, no tingling, just a balance flavor that gives this rum superb qualities. Enjoy it alone, without ice, without accompaniment. The 12 and the 15 years old are quite special rum, but with the 21, El Dorado is distinguished from others.

Les rhums El Dorado sont des classiques, mais le 21 ans se démarque par un gout exceptionnel qui élève les standards du rhum jusqu’aux meilleurs que j’ai eu la chance de gouter. Contrairement aux autres rhums, celui-ci est assemblé avec des rhums de minimum 21 ans et non, comme à l’habitude, contenant au plus vieux un rhum 21 ans (solera). De la Guyane, Il est vieilli dans des fûts de chêne et distillé dans des alambics de bois de plus de 200 ans. Il est plus facile en sachant ces détails techniques de comprendre la richesse derrière ce rhum. Juste à la couleur bronze et même à la lenteur que les jambes descendent sur le verre, on en devine le vieillissement de plus de deux décennies. Il est gras dans le verre, mais en bouche il est sec avec des arômes de chêne, d’épices (vanille, cannelle) et de sucre brun. Un petit côté fumé emballe le tout dans une harmonie presque parfaite. En finale, la vanille domine, mais un petit gout chocolaté est aussi présent. Du début à la fin il n’y a pas de brulure ni de picotement, juste un équilibre entre les arômes qui donne à ce rhum des qualités superbes. Il se déguste seul, sans glaces, sans accompagnement. Déjà le 12 et le 15 sont assez spécial comme rhum, mais avec le 21, El Dorado se distingue des autres.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by 2.ooohhh from United States with 42 ratings

I won't give it a 10, but I find myself going back to this bottle again and again. It's sublime the way the flavors are presented when sipping on this. I'm just starting the bottle so I may adjust my score up or down a star by the time I finish it, but it's certainly on my keep a bottle in the bar list now.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by svartkonst from Sweden with 11 ratings

This is the best rum I've come across so far. It was so smooth in its taste that it almost felt off. Definitely a case where you get what you pay for.

Small screenshot 20210218 233356 whatsapp

Posted 4 months ago by Foglialuce from Italy with 9 ratings

deep, most aromatic, full-bodied, persistent, characteristic, this rum has in itself all the best characteristics that a good rum should have

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Razia from Netherlands with 12 ratings

I was disappointed by this one. A smooth whiskey would have done the same trick for me. The dry taste of bourbon barrels caught me off guard. Not what I expected after the good 12 year old and wonderful 15 year old.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

Harsh smokey rum, a bit like an single malt whiskey. Round, big bodied liquid for the advanced rumdrinkers with a big wallet. I don't want my rums to taste like whiskey. If I want whiskey I drink whiskey. Hope that the 12 yo is my cup of tea instead.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

I tasted this rum 3 times and I still could not identify the aromas and flavors of this rum. My notebook was more like a literary and dramatic trial. But it's done. We start our last tasting (actually fourth) with this 21 year. Really more complex than 15 years with almond and walnut notes. fruit notes on the palate (banana), but also chocolate, coffee, expresso. very long finish. It was a real pleasure to finally taste this rum in optimal conditions.

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted 6 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar: 34 gpl. At first this has a sweet wood or chemical type of smell then it gives way to a nice tobacco and smokey wood flavor. The initial bite gives settles down to a nice warm finish. This rum continues to taste better each time I sample it.
It is sweet and is somewhat similar to Diplomatico Exclusiva only this rum has a bit more oak to it. It is the best of the El Dorado line so far. It's worth trying, but at $110 per bottle my thoughts were that the taste does not justify the cost.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Gabe from United States with 3 ratings

Heavy, sweet, smooth... Rich and savory. Superb sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

Herkomst: Guyana
abv: 43% (niet branderig)
Inhoud: 70cl
Kleur: Bruine Rum
Aroma: citrus fruit, tabak, banaan, karamel en hout.
Smaak: droog fruit, gebakken banaan, karamel, hout, vanille en melasse.
Nasmaak: heel lang en zoetig, karamel, melasse.

De ED 21 heeft een complex aroma en smaak die blijft veranderen naar mate je je glas drinkt.

Edit:
16-33 gr/liter suiker toegevoegd. Jammer, niet nodig, 1 punt minder.