Posting your rating...
El Dorado 21-Year rum

El Dorado 21-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 21 is produced near the equator in Guyana by Demerara distillery. The final product is a blend of rums, aged between 21 and 25 years and crafted using 100% locally sourced Demerara sugar. Traditional tools are used in the distilling processes including three unique wooden stills. The rums rest until maturity in 45 gallon oak casks.

8.4/10
376 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
12
42
106
163
46

Rate El Dorado 21-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

376 El Dorado 21-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Dirk from Canada with 39 ratings

Just started a new job and my wife bought me this as a gift. The El Dorado 12 is my go to rum. This is so much more complex a rum. This is not as sweet as the 12 but is just as thick in the mouth. Definitely let it sit in your glass before sipping let it breath a little . You will not be disappointed.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 59 ratings

This is a fine rum but i would say it's pretty much on the same level as the 15 year and not a big step above. The 15 year arguably has a slightly better finish but the taste of the 21 year is just ever so slightly superior. Nice oak barrel taste going on! You can definitely own both as they are different but i wouldn't say one is better than the other.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Akshjps from Netherlands with 5 ratings

I bought this rum together with the plantation xo, just to give it a try. Was not disappointed!
Nice bottle, sweet smell. No burning sensation, very smooth.
Has a mild taste of raw sugarcane that took me back to my childhood.
Would definitely recommend!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by henkbolk from Netherlands with 7 ratings

Good, but then the 15 years is also good!
Quite a price difference.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 145 ratings

I rate it the same score as 15y. I would not say it is better than 15y.. its different. Its little bit smoother and creamy. On the nose you can feel tobaccoo, caramel and coffee. In the mouth flavours of vanilla, tobacco, oak and fruit. Not sure about the price... but my rating is based all about taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by IBO from Slovakia with 159 ratings

Naozaj chutný rum. Možno som po ochutnaní 12YO a 15YO čakal o čosi viac. Je výborný,ale v danej cenovej kategórii pre mňa nie top. Cítiť tropické tóny,jemnú drevitost a je naozaj plný chuti.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Samurdavidov from Latvia with 60 ratings

Price ~110 euro in Europe per bottle

“With a little help from my friends”, just like in song from Beatles.
Thank you,

This one is Guayana Rum (north part of the South America), from very historical important region - Demerara. But not about this region I wonted to talk today. Mostly I want focus on El dorado now and say two things about this Rum. One bad and one good. The good one that a number what you find on bottle is correct, it is the youngest age of rum you can find in bottle. This is fair politics in ‘Demerara distillers’. The second thing is that in the rum was added sugar. In ED 12 and ED 15 much more, than it is in 21 years old, but anyway I don’t agree with that fact.
But however, this El dorado 21 is very good! So be sure, you don’t feel this sweet additions from sugar here!

Color: 7;7,5-10 to darkest

Nose: deep, rich, caramel, bitter black chocolate, smoke notes, toffee, vanilla.

Palate: it tastes not as sweet as when you smell it. Very rich and complex. There is so much... it’s like you finish small puzzle before with some 10 pieces and now you take this El Dorado 21, and here is much more, hundreds of pieces... you need time and patience to “open your palate now”.
At start with first sips I found it little bit oily. Molasses, ginger, notes of spice and wood prevail in your mouth.

Very smooth and long aftertaste. It just like wave what covers you in “slow motion”. Again smooth, leather, dry, and finish with spices.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Pudley from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

I was expecting a smooth ride. Strong flavour but harsh after taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Melo from Italy with 1 rating

Sono rimasto sorpreso da ciò che questo rum può offrire. All'olfatto è mielato/fruttato, al palato al primo impatto può sembrare un po' troppo legnoso con una marcata nota affumucata ma si fa tubito strada un finale davvero delizioso di sentori di caffè e cioccolato che risulta molto persistente. Un rum davvero valido, senza dubbio da provare almeno una volta. Io sono alla seconda bottiglia e chissà che non arriveri la terza!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Adrian Adame from Czech Republic with 376 ratings

Skvělý kousek, kdo má v oblibě El Dorado bude nadšený, velká dobrota!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by The_Earl from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

Smooth, deep with a lasting honey aftertaste. Best served neat