Posting your rating...
El Dorado 21-Year rum

El Dorado 21 is produced near the equator in Guyana by Demerara distillery. The final product is a blend of rums, aged between 21 and 25 years and crafted using 100% locally sourced Demerara sugar. Traditional tools are used in the distilling processes including three unique wooden stills. The rums rest until maturity in 45 gallon oak casks.

Rate El Dorado 21-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


327 El Dorado 21-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by David from United States with 11 ratings

Very nice to drink. Nuttiness and Carmel are the major overtones. Easy to drink. Slight alcohol burn but very very light and extremely quickly residing. Easy and mellow rum with a very light almost no kick. I like!

Posted over 4 years ago by Kristof from Belgium with 36 ratings

Well-balanced rum with good taste that always seems to please me.

Posted over 4 years ago by Nordicrum from Sweden with 22 ratings

A very nice aged rum, with the added proff making for a very lively taste. Still, it is somewhat sweet for my taste, unlike its younger cousin, the El Dorado 15 year old, which has a much more delicate balance between sweetness and oak.

Posted over 4 years ago by Meikomat from Germany with 34 ratings

Die Milde zeigt sich über den gesamten Bereich. Zeigt aber leider nicht meinen Geschmack. Lieber den Diplomatico Exclusiva trinken

Posted over 4 years ago by Denes from Belgium with 1 rating

Smooth touch with a minor dry finish that stays a while..
Truely loved the first sniff I took at it, So many aroma's running free when you swirl it just once after that first sniff.
When you poor that first sip on your tongue the rum really comes together.
Oak, tabbacco, vanilla , just a couple of flavors that come to mind.

Great rum , but the price is accordingly high.

Posted over 4 years ago by Samantha from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

I have yet to be wowed by an Eldorado rum. One priced at £75 you might think would achieve that but not even close.
Maybe not a "wow" drink but certainly a pleasant tipple.

Posted over 4 years ago by solidemachine from Canada with 8 ratings

Assurément un des meilleurs rhums que j'ai eu la chance de déguster ! Un solide 9/10 en ce qui me concerne.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Ben from Canada with 58 ratings

don't forget about de 12 or 15 years but the 21 is tha *#@?.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Devin from Canada with 14 ratings

Ok the 12 year is great value, the 15 is my standard to judge all other rums, the 21 was equally good. More complex, but not as sweet in my opinion. I bought the 25 year for a special occasion and given el dorados record you know it will be a treat! You cannot go wrong with ED!!!

Posted almost 5 years ago by cK from Canada with 60 ratings

One of the best rums that I have had neat. Amazing flavour and drinks like a good scotch. Expensive but worth it if you can find it.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Marcopesche from Italy with 20 ratings

Sicuramente un rum di prestigio, costoso sicuramente, ma sono 21 anni di invecchiamento autentici, e la cosa si sente eccome

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jan Ekstrøm from Denmark with 22 ratings

Denne rom hører til en af mine favoritter. Det var faktisk også den der fik sat gang i min interesse for rom. Den er fløjlsblød med en god og ikke for sød smag der varer længe.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Lasse Bloch from Denmark with 59 ratings

er godt nok et stykke tid siden, jeg har smagt denne rom, men jeg husker den som værende helt fantastisk.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 77 ratings

One of my favourite of the el dorado line; I actually prefer it slightly over the 25.
If we could give half marks I would give this an 8 1/2; mostly because the oak sticks around a little longer then I would like

Posted almost 5 years ago by Sandro from Switzerland with 15 ratings

Strong but smooth with a slight hint of tabac.
Vanilla and toffee creating a nice coat in your mouth.

A truly great Rum

Posted almost 5 years ago by AJ from United States with 14 ratings

So so smooth. Pure joy sipping with a close friend who appreciates not just fine rum but truly exceptional rum. Everyone is entitled to their own opinions....on just about any subject..but anyone that gives this rum a score of less than 8 doesn't know rum. In this price range this rum may have some equals but none better.

Posted almost 5 years ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

of course smoother and finer than 15y, but for me simplier 12y is still better demerara taste.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jeff Smith from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

this is my go to choice in my local cocktail bar, Mokoko.
If I'm feeling indulgent, I'll even use it in a daiquiri where the complexity still comes through.
Top banana

Posted about 5 years ago by Greg from Canada with 2 ratings

Let's just acknowledge it... This is the best there is. We know there's more exclusive and expensive bottles out there but this is perfection. With too many notes to list, the overall experience vs the price is unmatched. Whenever I drink a new aged rum, I can't help but compare it against El Dorado 21.

Complexity defined. Top shelf, with all others bowing down underneath.

Posted about 5 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

Many think the El Dorado 21 is the best - or at least one of the best. My tastes are a little different, and I prefer the 8 and 12 better than the 15 and 21. Maybe it's aged TOO much? Can that be it? Heavier and more complex - yes. So if that's what you like, plop down the $80+ for it. If not, buy 4-5 bottles of the 8 year.

Posted about 5 years ago by André B. Christensen from Denmark with 27 ratings

En lækker rom med kraft og blødhed i samme flaske. Eneste problem er at flaske hurtig bliver tømt.

Posted about 5 years ago by Graham from United States with 14 ratings

The best of the brand I've had. It's smooth and showcases the best of Guyana

Posted about 5 years ago by Carl Saxmark from Sweden with 115 ratings

This one was a disappointment.. The taste of oak trashed this one for me.. Strong taste of the rum but i´ll stick with the 15 years in my cabinet.

Posted about 5 years ago by Trina Amberger from New Zealand with 7 ratings

wow, always good to learn a new country..... Had to get on my maps to figure out where this place was as I had never heard of it. On the nose, citrus peel, dried fruits, vanilla, brown sugar and toffee. In the mouth... Oak, smoky, cinnamon, vanilla, coffee and brown sugar....amazing complexity and balance!

Posted about 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 34 gpl. At first this has a sweet wood or chemical type of smell then it gives way to a nice tobacco and smokey wood flavor. The initial bite gives settles down to a nice warm finish. This rum continues to taste better each time I sample it.
It is sweet and is somewhat similar to Diplomatico Exclusiva only this rum has a bit more oak to it. It is the best of the El Dorado line so far. It's worth trying, but at $110 per bottle my thoughts were that the taste does not justify the cost.