Posting your rating...
El Dorado 21-Year rum

El Dorado 21-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 21 is produced near the equator in Guyana by Demerara distillery. The final product is a blend of rums, aged between 21 and 25 years and crafted using 100% locally sourced Demerara sugar. Traditional tools are used in the distilling processes including three unique wooden stills. The rums rest until maturity in 45 gallon oak casks.

8.4/10 (349 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
12
32
98
160
41

Rate El Dorado 21-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


349 El Dorado 21-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Achim Emmenegger from Germany with 67 ratings

Klasse Eldorado mit passendem Preis,auch der 12 und 15 jährige sind Klasse und ich habe mir einige Flaschen auf die Seite gelegt,Wer weiss wie sich die Qualitäten entwickeln bei den weltweit stark steigenden Rum Absätzen.Zum regelmässigen Genuss absolut geeignet da mit 70-80 Euro der Preis absolut in Ordnung geht ,nur beim Centenario 20 oder 25 aus Costa Rica ist das PLV noch besser.
Die 25 jährigen Abfüllungen mit 5 -10 fachem Preis sind nur unwesentlich besser und den Mehrpreis nicht wert

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Dimitris from Greece with 78 ratings

Taste 9+/10. Almost same as good as 25 at 1/5 of the price. Strong flavour with cognac aging (prefer from the berbon) but thick no light solera character... fruity, little sweet with some oak but not disturbing & overall it is semi dry little burn but also is smooth & buttery! If it was sweeter i would love it.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Kair from Canada with 17 ratings

One of the best out there. But between the 15 and the 21. The taste difference is so slight. The price difference though... I'd go for the 15. Even the 12 is the bomb !! My go to for best bang for your buck. If I wanna splurge. Kirk and sweeney !! If not el dorado is the bomb !!!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by roberto.azores from Portugal with 47 ratings

This rum seems to me a mixture of 12 and 15 years old.
Have a 12-year-old sweetness and 15-year-old spiciness.
Good smell of honey.

This is a great stuff, but is overpriced. The 15 years old costs half the price.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 347 ratings

I had only tried the El Dorado rums up to the 15 year. Like many other reviewers on here, I also felt that the 12 year old was their best. I actually rated their 15 year old much less than their 12 year old. Well, with this 21 year going on sale for $100 US and disappearing from shelves almost as soon as it is placed there, I jumped at that foolish chance to finally grab my own bottle. I have also long known about distilled spirits spending "too long in the wood" as being detrimental to the end product. I myself like a woody taste in my rums, but not this damn much! One could probably soak some wood chips in water for the barbecue and instead of adding to the burning charcoal, strain the water into some El Dorado 8 and get close to the same results. Yes, I am exaggerating a bit, but I feel like I have been ripped off in buying this bottle!!! At this price, I would expect a minimum rating of an 8. My initial rating starts as a 7 and it will need time to breathe in the bottle. A snifter of this rum needs to breathe for at least 30 minutes and then a few drops of spring water need to be added. Even with this improvement, it does not boost my rating up to an 8. Hopefully this rating will not tumble down to a 6 like it's 15 year old brother. Maybe it will improve, but I seriously doubt it. The 15 year old Frigate Reserve Rum bought along with this one is a lot better and less than half the price.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Ernie Higgs from Canada with 24 ratings

Sipping for special occasions only. Good body and nose with a very smooth finish. Looking forward to the next special occasion.

Ffffff

Posted at Hale Pele over 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

A true blessing for your mouth. An experience in a glass.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by DjAugust from Hungary with 24 ratings

Nice El dorado with oaky nose and a less sweet and more spicey taste. My personal preference is for more rounded sweeter rums in this price range, but I would never refuse a sip fron this either :)

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Hesel from Denmark with 66 ratings

Nice taste, a bit oaky but still sweet.
A clear taste and a well balanced rum.

The best for the price.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by KathyPG from Trinidad and Tobago with 4 ratings

This is the rum to have on the rocks or neat, just to savor the yummy spices coming together beautifully in each sip.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by RumDontWalkFIN from Finland with 1 rating

Smooth easy taste but too sweet when compared to El Dorado 15 years.