Posting your rating...
El Dorado 21-Year rum

El Dorado 21 is produced near the equator in Guyana by Demerara distillery. The final product is a blend of rums, aged between 21 and 25 years and crafted using 100% locally sourced Demerara sugar. Traditional tools are used in the distilling processes including three unique wooden stills. The rums rest until maturity in 45 gallon oak casks.

Rate El Dorado 21-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


327 El Dorado 21-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by David from United States with 11 ratings

Very nice to drink. Nuttiness and Carmel are the major overtones. Easy to drink. Slight alcohol burn but very very light and extremely quickly residing. Easy and mellow rum with a very light almost no kick. I like!

Posted over 4 years ago by brunolela from Italy with 2 ratings

Excellent rum from very full and complex flavor , for less than a hundred euro you will not find better

Posted over 4 years ago by Djimprov from Canada with 4 ratings

Was/am an avid whisky drinker. Stumbled into rum at a friends house. He was out of whisky, so I asked for a rum and coke. He was out of coke,so he just handed me a glass of rum. It was Flor de Cana, and it opened my eyes. I finished a bottle of El Dorado 12 and decided to step it up a notch... Although pricey, what a great drink.

Spicy oak, with hints of toffee and vanilla. Heat in the mouth, with little to no burn in the throat. Fantastic!

Posted over 4 years ago by Carlos from United States with 24 ratings

This is a Family Selection Rum, you need to have it but, drink it in special moments or with the family. Like all others El Dorado is perfectionon the bottle, I love it From the first sip , very harmonious, with character, sweet and the usual wood flavor. Absolute pleasure from the first contact with the tongue up to the grandiose finish !

Posted over 4 years ago by Etienne Malenfant from Canada with 14 ratings

It is an excellant choice! Yeah, the price is good but the product too... I tasted it from a friend and I can't wait to have my own one! You can't be disappointed, impossible !

Posted over 4 years ago by Pandur from Austria with 73 ratings

Den Rum hat mir meine Frau vor zwei Jahren geschenkt - dafür liebe ich sie noch mehr! Schon beim ersten Schluck war es um mich geschehen und n den 21er El Dorado verliebt. Ein sehr harmonischer Rum, ganz ohne aggresive Alkoholtendenzen. Geschmack nach Kokos, Vanille und Nuss, mit leichtem Zimteinschlag. Ein absoluter Genuss vom ersten Kontakt mit der Zunge bis hin zum grandiosen Abgang!

Posted over 4 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

This stuff is the best I have had ever had the pleasure of tasting... Delicate flavours throughout the whole drink on the rocks... It's amazing Really good... If you have any money this should be a definate purchase... To mix it is a sin

Posted over 4 years ago by Rum un from United Kingdom with 59 ratings

I haven't tried all of the El Dorado variants (just two of the single barrels, 12 [much better than the 15] 15 [disappointing] & 25 [incredibly expensive]) and in my opinion this is by far the best and definitely one of the best rums I've ever tasted.

An almost "off" sour smell, maybe like slightly aged passion fruit.

An incredibly strong chocolate taste hits immediately, followed by tobacco and then raisins.

A pleasant burn, just enough for you to know it's there.

I've tasted this back to back with Panama 21 rum nation and millonario xo (with which I thought this was my equal favourite) but it's edged ahead of those two this time (which could be because I've been drinking mainly whisky recently and its taken time for my palate to readjust). Truly wonderful.

Posted over 4 years ago by LucMichaud from Canada with 20 ratings

Un bijoux, une explosion florale, huileux, crémeux en bouche un délice a coup sur! MIAMMIMAM

Posted over 4 years ago by Geno from Canada with 30 ratings

And many of them are very good. This one is too. Sweet taste. Lovely sipping rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by craig72 from Canada with 42 ratings

Not because of the price-tag, but this stuff is REALLY freakin' good, people! Near perfect rum. Another solid entry from El~Dorado. Richness competes with oakiness, providing a taste-profile that has a nicely balanced sweet & smoky quality - buttery toffee and brown-sugar flavors intermingle with oak to rightly satisfy any pure rum-drinker's discerning palate! If not, well, then, I don't know what to tell you. Drink what you like, but I'm sticking to this.

Posted over 4 years ago by Dany from Canada with 15 ratings

Love this oaky yet sweet taste if honey in this rum. Fantastic sipping rum. Love having a sweet rum with a cigar. Love the duality in the tastes.

Posted over 4 years ago by Axel from Germany with 89 ratings

Nicht so süß wie viele andere, man schmeckt die lange Reife im Eichenfass.

Posted over 4 years ago by JÅJ from Sweden with 33 ratings

Borde varit bättre...!
Med tanke på pris..
Flaskan borde oxå spegla priset man tar..!
⭐️⭐️⭐️+

Posted over 4 years ago by JF boutin from Canada with 12 ratings

Excellent sip rum with a good amount of sugar but not in excess. We did a tasting of the 12,15, 21 years and the 12 years was just as good as this one or the 15 years, if not better. A little too expensive considering the qualities his younger brothers

Posted over 4 years ago by Louis Ross from Canada with 15 ratings

This is a nice Dark deep-seated rum. It has a very Smooth taste and its age shows. This is a very decent alternative to a fine aged Cuban rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by James Cove from United States with 7 ratings

This bottle got me interested in rum. I was into scotch, tequila and vodka and ever since I tried El Dorado 21 I started appreciating, tasting and collecting rums for years. Perfect amount of sweet, spice and smoothness until you try the next favorite.

Posted over 4 years ago by Goldtyger from United States with 11 ratings

Excellent rum less sweet than other but still among the best, compare with other top 9 plus sweeter rums to define your palate preference

Posted over 4 years ago by David from Germany with 74 ratings

Ever since I tasted my first Rum from Barbados I have been a fan of Demerara rums in general and El Dorado in particular.
The 21 year old has well balanced sweetness, almost no sharpness and still tastes like a real rum. Perfection!

Posted over 4 years ago by Peter from Germany with 8 ratings

I like the El Dorado range. The 21 year edit is a great rum...very smooth and elegant. but in my opinion a little bit too expensive.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jonas from Denmark with 20 ratings

Super rom, som er langt bedre end sine yngre brødre.

Posted over 4 years ago by Brad Cannon from United States with 27 ratings

I really liked this one. I pared it with the Appletons 21 and liked them both for different reasons. So rich and full bodied. Worth twice the price of its 15 year sibling though? I thought not initially when i had tried them separately however now I tried them together and although I thought I didn't I really do prefer the 21 over the 15. It has a perfect balance and the alcohol burn just comes through as pure spice. Equal to my other favorite Zapata XO

Posted over 4 years ago by Fokakya from Canada with 11 ratings

This is an amazing sipping rum. Complex flavours, not over-sweet and smooth finish. Darn near perfection!

Posted over 4 years ago by Lorne from CA with 10 ratings

Not very expensive given the age, but not nearly as smooth as one would expect either. Fair price @ $100 cdn for the bottle, but nothing to get overly excited over.

Posted over 4 years ago by Rick357 from Canada with 4 ratings

This may not be the best rum available, but it gets a 10/10 from me. My son says it is too sweet. Not so say I ! If one likes the taste and nose of fresh warm molasses then you will not be disappointed. Adorable. My gold standard against which all other rums are compared.

Like fine scotch, every fine rum going into my mouth does so without hindrance from mixes, water or ice. Neat cant be beat.