Posting your rating...
El Dorado 21-Year rum

El Dorado 21-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 21 is produced near the equator in Guyana by Demerara distillery. The final product is a blend of rums, aged between 21 and 25 years and crafted using 100% locally sourced Demerara sugar. Traditional tools are used in the distilling processes including three unique wooden stills. The rums rest until maturity in 45 gallon oak casks.

8.4/10 (349 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
12
32
98
160
41

Rate El Dorado 21-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


349 El Dorado 21-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Dustin R. Newton from United States with 33 ratings

For what this rum costs (2 to 4x more than others), you are better suited to buy mire bottles if another type. El Dorado 12 is the best that they make, and they quickly go down hill with age, which is perplexing. If you prefer harsh, this is for you.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by The_Earl from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

Smooth, deep with a lasting honey aftertaste. Best served neat

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Mike Pooch from United States with 38 ratings

I am a huge fan of the 12...I have also enjoyed a bottle of single barrel, which is excellent. The 21 is definitely more oaky, with a huge flavor character of caramel, spices, plum, fruit, and vanilla. Definitely better neat. It’s not as sweet as the 12, which I actually like as a change of pace, still a smokey Demerara but definitely closer to a nice scotch.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Vicke from Sweden with 70 ratings

This is actually a very good rum. Well balanced and so on, but it is not my kind of rum. I actually think the 15y is a better alternative from a pure taste perspective.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Tirekicker from Canada with 3 ratings

My immediate thought after first tasting was like a mild whiskey. Flavors are nice after the initial mild kick but it's not for me at this price point.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Miroslav from Slovakia with 35 ratings

El Dorado, 12r niečo super, 15r fantastický, človek by čakal stúpajúcu tendenciu ale dostane trošku iný smer. Výborný rum, viac sladkosti a sud na úrovni koňaku. Strata svojej korenistej línie na úkor veku. Ale inak fantastické pitie ak nečakáte postupnosť 12-15-21.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Hector from United States with 59 ratings

I have tasted $30 and $40 rums that are way more complex and better tasting than this. Is good but not great, for that price I was expecting a more viscous spirit with a longer finish and better flavor. Not worth then money, if you like El Dorado rums stick to the 15 years, its a lot better in my opinion.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

Drier - and tastier - than the 15yo which swims in sweet. Not bad. One can find Demerara flavours in this one, spices and all.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by iana from Canada with 11 ratings

Sweet flavourful rum

I will drink this bottle very slowly and selectively

Similar notes to the 12 year but not as sweet some nice caramel and vanilla notes

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Folharth from Canada with 69 ratings

El Dorado 21-Year - good !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by AT from United States with 23 ratings

Excellent in it’s pure one-note brown sugar flavor and balance of sweet and bitter, with only a hint of wood that doesn’t overpower. Rum purists will love this one!
Appearance: Medium Amber
Aroma: Brown sugar, very slight wood rosin
Taste: Slightly sweet, slightly bitter
Flavor: Brown sugar, only a hint of wood
Texture: Light body, very smooth once you get past the sting of alcohol
Finish: Long, brown sugar, and then mild molasses at the end