Posting your rating...
El Dorado 21-Year rum

El Dorado 21-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 21 is produced near the equator in Guyana by Demerara distillery. The final product is a blend of rums, aged between 21 and 25 years and crafted using 100% locally sourced Demerara sugar. Traditional tools are used in the distilling processes including three unique wooden stills. The rums rest until maturity in 45 gallon oak casks.

8.4/10 (349 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
12
32
98
160
41

Rate El Dorado 21-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


349 El Dorado 21-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by DucksFan16 from United States with 52 ratings

A top 5 rum for me. Fantastic. If price was no option, this would be my everyday drinker.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by The_Earl from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

Smooth, deep with a lasting honey aftertaste. Best served neat

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Mike Pooch from United States with 38 ratings

I am a huge fan of the 12...I have also enjoyed a bottle of single barrel, which is excellent. The 21 is definitely more oaky, with a huge flavor character of caramel, spices, plum, fruit, and vanilla. Definitely better neat. It’s not as sweet as the 12, which I actually like as a change of pace, still a smokey Demerara but definitely closer to a nice scotch.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Vicke from Sweden with 70 ratings

This is actually a very good rum. Well balanced and so on, but it is not my kind of rum. I actually think the 15y is a better alternative from a pure taste perspective.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Tirekicker from Canada with 3 ratings

My immediate thought after first tasting was like a mild whiskey. Flavors are nice after the initial mild kick but it's not for me at this price point.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Miroslav from Slovakia with 35 ratings

El Dorado, 12r niečo super, 15r fantastický, človek by čakal stúpajúcu tendenciu ale dostane trošku iný smer. Výborný rum, viac sladkosti a sud na úrovni koňaku. Strata svojej korenistej línie na úkor veku. Ale inak fantastické pitie ak nečakáte postupnosť 12-15-21.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Hector from United States with 59 ratings

I have tasted $30 and $40 rums that are way more complex and better tasting than this. Is good but not great, for that price I was expecting a more viscous spirit with a longer finish and better flavor. Not worth then money, if you like El Dorado rums stick to the 15 years, its a lot better in my opinion.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

Drier - and tastier - than the 15yo which swims in sweet. Not bad. One can find Demerara flavours in this one, spices and all.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by iana from Canada with 11 ratings

Sweet flavourful rum

I will drink this bottle very slowly and selectively

Similar notes to the 12 year but not as sweet some nice caramel and vanilla notes

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Folharth from Canada with 69 ratings

El Dorado 21-Year - good !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by AT from United States with 23 ratings

Excellent in it’s pure one-note brown sugar flavor and balance of sweet and bitter, with only a hint of wood that doesn’t overpower. Rum purists will love this one!
Appearance: Medium Amber
Aroma: Brown sugar, very slight wood rosin
Taste: Slightly sweet, slightly bitter
Flavor: Brown sugar, only a hint of wood
Texture: Light body, very smooth once you get past the sting of alcohol
Finish: Long, brown sugar, and then mild molasses at the end