Posting your rating...
Leatherback Special Reserve rum

Leatherback Special Reserve

Canada | Aged

5.1/10 (11 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
6
1

Rate Leatherback Special Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


11 Leatherback Special Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

B263a771cffe2e3a7c46b18a3c445bd9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Philippe Roy from Canada with 32 ratings

I bought this bottle without knowing it was from my hometown because the looked of the bottle really intrigue me. After knowing it came from ottawa i was even more exited to taste but it is a big let down. From the price tag and looked i tough it would be a sipper but it turned out to be a mixer, but it brings a new taste to the original rum and coke that iv'e never tasted before.

40107f31f99c8e7dc30b197416701624.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Pierre from Canada with 86 ratings

The Leatherback rum at 57% alcohol has a nice amber colour. The taste has nothing fancy. It smells like Home Depot. It is ok mixed with soda.

09536f4f1867a0f0c7db8b9c9ed6678a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by Leo K from Canada with 53 ratings

I bought it at the distillery. I realize there are different types and tastes of rum. This rum was not similar to any other rum I have had. It was bad. I actually poured the balance of the bottle out.

I also bought some of their "spiced rum" for a friend who indicated it was good.

Fa969755bbbd9b5a839d01b148e47644.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by Don from Canada with 139 ratings

North of 7 is Ottawa's first craft distillery. Leatherback rum is distilled from 100% molasses, with no additives or added colouring. The rum is a copper colour; aromas include molasses, oak and vanilla. It's warm on the palate, with flavours of spicy oak, molasses, dried fruit and vanilla. Not smooth enough for a great sipper but makes a great mixer.

C9e7649bf31339936938046381bc410c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Tmags from Canada with 2 ratings

fresh taste - if you are looking for something warm and complex - not so much
Excellent for sitting on the dock and enjoying the sunshine
Canadian - eh?

7e14f4e834014ce3face114bec89f233.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by SteveTheSnakeGuy from Canada with 12 ratings

...quite this bad.
It’s like rum mixed with whisky.
In order to not waste it, I gave it to a genuine alcoholic.

A1f8b09fb98b4fe9e81ee360a7625e2b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Laurent Lapierre from Canada with 59 ratings

Pas facile à boire, disons qu'il est serait mieux en cocktail

Ba87ca8f38a8998f6b6431a5e0cb5fa9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 55 ratings

A good Canadian rum, at 80 proof. I wish they said what the oak barrels they used for aging were, as this has a wonderful smokiness to it that I've never tasted in a rum! I've only had it neat, and it's a good sipper. The light smoke on the nose just explodes when you taste it. I imagine it would be good mixed, but I've never tried ☺️

Eabd880cb8be28e778fedd4a7915ec7b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Jonathan Quintal from Canada with 44 ratings

Much different taste due to molasses I guess, I liked the fact that there are no additives so true taste better on ice

20a01431cfc50372e889083594c14934.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Eric from Canada with 5 ratings

Disponible à 40% et à 57% de taux d'alcool.
Bon rhum canadien.