Posting your rating...
Leatherback Special Reserve rum

Leatherback Special Reserve

Canada | Aged

5.1/10
14 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
8
1

Rate Leatherback Special Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

14 Leatherback Special Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Philippe Roy from Canada with 32 ratings

I bought this bottle without knowing it was from my hometown because the looked of the bottle really intrigue me. After knowing it came from ottawa i was even more exited to taste but it is a big let down. From the price tag and looked i tough it would be a sipper but it turned out to be a mixer, but it brings a new taste to the original rum and coke that iv'e never tasted before.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Pierre from Canada with 86 ratings

The Leatherback rum at 57% alcohol has a nice amber colour. The taste has nothing fancy. It smells like Home Depot. It is ok mixed with soda.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Eric O from Canada with 17 ratings

Ottawa rum with good notes. Ok on the rocks but really good as a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Drunken_Sailor from Canada with 11 ratings

Not bad for a Canadian Rum. Smooth oaky flavour and pretty good chilled.

Small stevesspirits v4

Posted 9 months ago by StevesSpirits from Canada with 36 ratings

This is Batch #2 of Leatherback Rum; I hope this rum improves with future batches.

On the nose there is dusty molasses, solvent, soap, sourness (some off-note that isn't to pleasant). The palate is simple and thin (40% ABV) molasses, and a little soapy. The finish is mild pepper, apple and citrus. Pretty unimpressive, but still drinkable; I use it to mix things successfully, but even there it isn't my favourite rum to mix.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Leo K from Canada with 59 ratings

I bought it at the distillery. I realize there are different types and tastes of rum. This rum was not similar to any other rum I have had. It was bad. I actually poured the balance of the bottle out.

I also bought some of their "spiced rum" for a friend who indicated it was good.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Don from Canada with 156 ratings

North of 7 is Ottawa's first craft distillery. Leatherback rum is distilled from 100% molasses, with no additives or added colouring. The rum is a copper colour; aromas include molasses, oak and vanilla. It's warm on the palate, with flavours of spicy oak, molasses, dried fruit and vanilla. Not smooth enough for a great sipper but makes a great mixer.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Tmags from Canada with 2 ratings

fresh taste - if you are looking for something warm and complex - not so much
Excellent for sitting on the dock and enjoying the sunshine
Canadian - eh?

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by SteveTheSnakeGuy from Canada with 12 ratings

...quite this bad.
It’s like rum mixed with whisky.
In order to not waste it, I gave it to a genuine alcoholic.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Laurent Lapierre from Canada with 59 ratings

Pas facile à boire, disons qu'il est serait mieux en cocktail