Posting your rating...
Leatherback Special Reserve rum

Rate Leatherback Special Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


11 Leatherback Special Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

B263a771cffe2e3a7c46b18a3c445bd9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Philippe Roy from Canada with 32 ratings

I bought this bottle without knowing it was from my hometown because the looked of the bottle really intrigue me. After knowing it came from ottawa i was even more exited to taste but it is a big let down. From the price tag and looked i tough it would be a sipper but it turned out to be a mixer, but it brings a new taste to the original rum and coke that iv'e never tasted before.

40107f31f99c8e7dc30b197416701624.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Pierre from Canada with 86 ratings

The Leatherback rum at 57% alcohol has a nice amber colour. The taste has nothing fancy. It smells like Home Depot. It is ok mixed with soda.

09536f4f1867a0f0c7db8b9c9ed6678a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by Leo K from Canada with 52 ratings

I bought it at the distillery. I realize there are different types and tastes of rum. This rum was not similar to any other rum I have had. It was bad. I actually poured the balance of the bottle out.

I also bought some of their "spiced rum" for a friend who indicated it was good.

Fa969755bbbd9b5a839d01b148e47644.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 10 months ago by Don from Canada with 135 ratings

North of 7 is Ottawa's first craft distillery. Leatherback rum is distilled from 100% molasses, with no additives or added colouring. The rum is a copper colour; aromas include molasses, oak and vanilla. It's warm on the palate, with flavours of spicy oak, molasses, dried fruit and vanilla. Not smooth enough for a great sipper but makes a great mixer.

C9e7649bf31339936938046381bc410c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Tmags from Canada with 2 ratings

fresh taste - if you are looking for something warm and complex - not so much
Excellent for sitting on the dock and enjoying the sunshine
Canadian - eh?

7e14f4e834014ce3face114bec89f233.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by SteveTheSnakeGuy from Canada with 12 ratings

...quite this bad.
It’s like rum mixed with whisky.
In order to not waste it, I gave it to a genuine alcoholic.

A1f8b09fb98b4fe9e81ee360a7625e2b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Laurent Lapierre from Canada with 59 ratings

Pas facile à boire, disons qu'il est serait mieux en cocktail

Ba87ca8f38a8998f6b6431a5e0cb5fa9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 55 ratings

A good Canadian rum, at 80 proof. I wish they said what the oak barrels they used for aging were, as this has a wonderful smokiness to it that I've never tasted in a rum! I've only had it neat, and it's a good sipper. The light smoke on the nose just explodes when you taste it. I imagine it would be good mixed, but I've never tried ☺️

Eabd880cb8be28e778fedd4a7915ec7b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jonathan Quintal from Canada with 44 ratings

Much different taste due to molasses I guess, I liked the fact that there are no additives so true taste better on ice

20a01431cfc50372e889083594c14934.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Eric from Canada with 5 ratings

Disponible à 40% et à 57% de taux d'alcool.
Bon rhum canadien.