Posting your rating...
El Dorado 12-Year rum

El Dorado 12-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 12-Year Rum is composed of a blend of aged rums, all at least 12 years old. The rums are distilled using a combination of stills including double wooden pot stills and are aged in bourbon oak casks.

Demerara Distillers of Guyana produces El Dorado 12-year rum and is the country's last remaining distillery, with origins tracing back to 1670. The name ""El Dorado"" references the legendary city of gold that is said to be in the country's Rupununi region.

7.7/10 (1058 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
23
83
269
438
187
46

Rate El Dorado 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1058 El Dorado 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

Suger dominates the profile. Its similar to Diplomatico Exclusiva with maybe a slightly better over flavor. There is some maple syrup, vanilla, oak, and pepper on the finish with everything playing second fiddle to the sweetness.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Gmhansurf from United States with 8 ratings

One of the smoothest rums I have had. Enjoyed it a little too much!

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by abrarey from United States with 28 ratings

A bit sweet for my taste but really nice. Smell like Bourbon and have that bourbony feeling.
Besides that, I think this is pretty decent. Will I buy it again, probably not, I think there are other rums that offer better value than this one.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Strike69 from United States with 3 ratings

I have not found an El Dorado I don't like. Consistent across the years.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Roger Catan from Netherlands with 1 rating

After some research I decided this was going to be my first rum. The reviews were promising, it wasn't too expensive and I wanted to try something different. I thought of it as a nice pleasant rum to sip, a great starter. It doesn't get boring and I can recommend this one to anyone who is considering to by their first bottle of rum.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by vladikr from Czech Republic with 2 ratings

Jeden z nejlepších komerčních rumů v cenové relaci do 700CZK.
Vhodné pro začátečníky a určitě neurazí neočekávanou návštěvu.

One of the best comercional Ron in this price range.
Valuable for unexpecedly guests.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Jack from United States with 1 rating

Molasses, vanilla notes, dark chocolate, oak. Very easy to put down, great for a beginner or someone who has a sweet tooth

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 54 ratings

I find this rum to be a safe bet for anyone just getting into the world of rum. I like it and want to rate it higher than a 7 but i like the El Dorado 15 year old just a little better. In reality i would give this a 7.5 if it were possible. The only negative i find about it is that it is just a little too far on the sweet side but it's still good. On ice this one becomes an 8/10 because it tones down the sweetness a bit and makes it more enjoyable. I was amazed to visit a bar in Southend, Essex, which actually had this behind the bar! I was so happy to see a bottle of this rather than the usual rums like Captain Morgan etc that this became a 10/10 for the night haha. Every sip was pure gold because of my happiness to find this stocked.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

This is NOT a great example of Demerara. Too much sweetening done - It covers flavours badly. The age statement is hard to believe from taste, no oak present. Just burned molasses, and sugars.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Dr. Brian West from Canada with 2 ratings

Beautiful amber colour, pleasantly aromatic, smooth, sweet, nice finish. If you can find a better rum anywhere near this price please let me know, immediately!

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by paaf from Czech Republic with 49 ratings

I don’t like this rum. Fells bitter without anything special to find in it.