Posting your rating...
El Dorado 12-Year rum

El Dorado 12-Year

Guyana | Aged | 40.0% ABV

El Dorado 12-Year Rum is composed of a blend of aged rums, all at least 12 years old. The rums are distilled using a combination of stills including double wooden pot stills and are aged in bourbon oak casks.

Demerara Distillers of Guyana produces El Dorado 12-year rum and is the country's last remaining distillery, with origins tracing back to 1670. The name ""El Dorado"" references the legendary city of gold that is said to be in the country's Rupununi region.

7.6/10
1164 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
8
27
91
310
479
197
47

Rate El Dorado 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1164 El Dorado 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small img 20160116 212313

Posted 6 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 85 ratings

A pleasant surprise and great Demerara rum. Before this rum I had only tasted more Spanish style rums and this broadened my view.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 477 ratings

I had this alongside the El Dorado 21, 15, and 5 in a blind tasting and it came in 3rd (after the 21 and the 15 - no surprise). It has a nice caramel smell and a good taste to match, but lacks the complexity of the 15, and the 21. Of the four, I'd recommend the 15 (the 21 is too big a price jump and isn't really better than the 15).

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

Was really looking forward to this one but didn't totally do it for me. The first thing that got me was the incredible chemical like aroma. Reminded me of my Dad's plastic model glue. While not a terrible smell, it was the strength of it that caught me off guard. It has more of a burn than some of my favorite, couldn't drink this all night but pleased I picked a bottle up. Finishes with a nice caramel aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by nomad from United States with 131 ratings

This is sweet smoky deliciousness at a bargain price! (less than $30 locally)if I add a little El Dorado EHP Single Barrel, it gets even better!

EDIT- this went from being a fav to, damn this is undrinkably sweet in about 18 months.
edited to add sugar test results- 35-39g
A few years later, this is still undrinkably sweet.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Phil Chiricotti from United States with 2 ratings

Michael from the US is way off. The El Dorado 15 is not good. This is up there with the best of them, regardless of price. Far better than the 15.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by rafeener from Canada with 25 ratings

A very oaky rich and blended aged Rum. Not a "all nighter" but with a couple around a fire or in a hot tub is marvelous.

Ffffff

Posted 7 days ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 140 ratings

I see that I'm in a minority here, but I find this a very average rum indeed. A shame as underneath all of it, I think that there is a good rum to be had.

But, and it's a really big but for my taste buds, it is completely ruined by the addition of far far too much sugar. Makes it a very unattractive sipper. Fortunately I have other rums that I'm not completely liking that I have blended with it making a blend whose whole is a lot better than the sum of its parts.

I guess it's easy to say that they would do well to return to more artisan ways, but that's not the way things work.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by GigiTOP from Slovenia with 12 ratings

Very smooth and sweet, great rum after diner as a dessert.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Pedro1987 from Portugal with 11 ratings

Still i remember in the begining i get a very good impression , and the bottle ended.

Just fell like writing a review so ...

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Jake1799 from Canada with 12 ratings

I Honestly prefer this to the older el dorado's I have, its smooth and well refined, and a great price too!

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Principe2 from Croatia with 1 rating

Rich, beautiful nose, very good taste, maybe unballanced a bit..