Posting your rating...
El Dorado 12-Year rum

El Dorado 12-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 12-Year Rum is composed of a blend of aged rums, all at least 12 years old. The rums are distilled using a combination of stills including double wooden pot stills and are aged in bourbon oak casks.

Demerara Distillers of Guyana produces El Dorado 12-year rum and is the country's last remaining distillery, with origins tracing back to 1670. The name ""El Dorado"" references the legendary city of gold that is said to be in the country's Rupununi region.

7.7/10 (1058 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
23
83
269
438
187
46

Rate El Dorado 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1058 El Dorado 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 55 ratings

There are better rums. There are cheaper rums. But for the price (

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by rafeener from Canada with 25 ratings

A very oaky rich and blended aged Rum. Not a "all nighter" but with a couple around a fire or in a hot tub is marvelous.

Ffffff

Posted 17 days ago by VladimirGrg from Croatia with 14 ratings

It's so good that I can't give it less than 9.5, it's different than 15 and 21, a bit smoother, less dark chocolate notes, molasses bit more vanilla, cinnamon, oak taste kinda feel different in every other El Dorado... it's not sweet rum, as someone says, the amount of sugar is kinda optimal in my opinion, it's well-balanced. Well, El Dorado 8 is absolutely less sweet but I conclude that 12 is more "polished", better balanced and more suitable for most people. I still prefer El Dorado15 the most but it's such an enjoyble moment with every El Dorado.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by LiamHM (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

This is a nice rum and probably ranks high for rums in this price bracket. For me though I’d go for the 15 year one.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by nickprice from Netherlands with 17 ratings

Nice cheaper alternative to the 15 year old with only a little bit more bite. Caramel tones with a strong rum and raisin flavour. Demerara rums really are my favourite.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Bamboleo from Germany with 17 ratings

This rum tastes like alcoholic caramel with some vanilla and wood notes. very pleasant but too much sugar added.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Jimmy waffles from Canada with 4 ratings

You can really feel the Caribbean vibes in this rum full of fruity Character. One of my everyday favourite Rums. Can't go wrong with this one.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by TripleAre from Canada with 4 ratings

Showing up to a business party? Leave the wine at home, grab yourself a bottle of quality not quantity. This is my go to rum for when I need to look like a high roller. Promotion time? Pour yourself a shot on the rocks and the rest is history.

Small 20201115 101826

Posted 2 months ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 59 ratings

Der El-Dorado 12years ist ein Melasse Blend welcher mindestens 12 Jahre in Bourbon Fässern gelagert wurde. Der Rum stammt aus Guyana uns wird mit verschiedenen Pot Stillen destillierten Rums geblendet. Er ist das Einsteiger Segment von El-Dorado und für knapp 30Euro eigentlich fast überall zu kaufen. Der Rum mit klassische 40% wird in die für El-Dorado typische Flasche abgefüllt. Ich finde die Optik ok. Der Rum ist stark gesüßt. Mindestens 40g/l an Zucker wurden beigemengt.

In der Nase ist der Rum scharf. Alkohol ist angesagt. Lässt man den Rum Zeit kommt Vanille und etwas Holz mit. Süßliche Noten machen sich etwas Platz. Im Mund finde ich nicht viel Interessantes. Viel Süße mit einer scharfen Note. Etwas Holz, etwas Eiche. Karamellige Vanille. Ich weiß nicht was an dem Rum mild sein soll. Der Abgang ist dann auch eher Scharf. Etwas Nuss und Bitterstoffe.

Für 30Euro ist der Rum echt ok, auch wenn ich die 12 Jahre irgendwie nicht glaube. Definitiv ein Massenprodukt. Und so langweilig schmeckt er auch. Um so leerer die Flasche wurde, konnte ich ihm mehr abgewinnen. Hatte das Gefühl die Alkohol Note wird milder. Am Ende war ich froh als es geschafft war. Lieber 10 Euro mehr ausgeben und was anständiges kaufen.

The El-Dorado 12years is a molasses blend which has been stored in bourbon barrels for at least 12 years. The rum comes from Guyana and is dazzled with various pot stills distilled rums. It is the entry-level segment of El-Dorado and can be bought quickly for just under 30euros. The rum with classic 40% is bottled in the bottle typical of El-Dorado. I think the optic is ok. The rum is strongly sweetened. At least 40g/l of sugar have been added.

In the nose, the rum is sharp. Alcohol is the order of the day. Leaving the rum time comes vanilla and some wood with you. Sweet notes make some room for themselves. I don't find much interesting in my mouth. Lots of sweetness with a sharp touch. Some wood, some oak. Caramel vanilla. I don't know what is so great about this rum. The finish is then also rather sharp. Some nut and bitter substances.

For 30Euro the rum is really ok, even if I somehow don't believe the 12 years. Definitely a mass product. And it tastes just boring. The more empty the bottle became, I was able to gain more from it. Had the feeling the alcohol note becomes milder. In the end I was happy when it was done. Better to spend 10 euros more and buy something decent.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Mista.c from Australia with 12 ratings

Have to say I am disappointed as after reading enough views here I decided to try this drop, however it failed to live up to my expectations. With such comments as “This is my go to Rum” and “Leaves you wanting more” I felt I had to try this. Some people have been claiming this is even better than the 15years. At $85AUD im left knowing there are plenty better options I could have spent my $$$ on. Although it was smooth, it wasnt nearly as sweet as some say (I do prefer the sweeter things in life) and It lacked any real complexity to be desired. Smells average and was kicking myself after opening already knowing ive made a mistake falling for the glowing reviews on this site. Some mutha fuckers can just not be trusted. We all have different tastes but if this is your 10 you have a basic ass palate 7/10

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by ultralisk from Canada with 3 ratings

Open the bottle, nice cork lid. Makes that pop when you pull it out.
Get a whiff of that on the nose, wow all I smell is Butterscotch, brown sugar with bananas, orange and coconut.
Go for the taste, when it first hits your tongue, it tastes like a classic Rum. That means fermented sugar cane, and an ever so slight burn/bite to it. The texture is smooth, creamy almost.
The taste evolves so beautifully into this tropical coconut, brown sugar, butterscotch, buttery, bananas, oranges, and wow. It's got sweet fruity tropical profile there is no denying that, but it doesn't take away from the Classic Rum flavor profile. It does not taste like a liqueur, it is still a rum, I want to be clear on that.

Overall, I think this is an easy rum for beginners, and also lovely for seasoned drinkers who are looking for a more tropical taste to remind them of being on a Caribbean beach.