Posting your rating...
El Dorado 12-Year rum

El Dorado 12-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 12-Year Rum is composed of a blend of aged rums, all at least 12 years old. The rums are distilled using a combination of stills including double wooden pot stills and are aged in bourbon oak casks.

Demerara Distillers of Guyana produces El Dorado 12-year rum and is the country's last remaining distillery, with origins tracing back to 1670. The name ""El Dorado"" references the legendary city of gold that is said to be in the country's Rupununi region.

7.7/10 (1037 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
22
83
263
431
181
45

Rate El Dorado 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1037 El Dorado 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Axel from Germany with 89 ratings

Nice Rum, it goes in the direction of Whiskey. not to Sweet, very pleasant.

Ffffff

Posted 6 days ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 44 ratings

Der El-Dorado 12years ist ein Melasse Blend welcher mindestens 12 Jahre in Bourbon Fässern gelagert wurde. Der Rum stammt aus Guyana uns wird mit verschiedenen Pot Stillen destillierten Rums geblendet. Er ist das Einsteiger Segment von El-Dorado und für knapp 30Euro eigentlich fast überall zu kaufen. Der Rum mit klassische 40% wird in die für El-Dorado typische Flasche abgefüllt. Ich finde die Optik ok. Der Rum ist stark gesüßt. Mindestens 40g/l an Zucker wurden beigemengt.

In der Nase ist der Rum scharf. Alkohol ist angesagt. Lässt man den Rum Zeit kommt Vanille und etwas Holz mit. Süßliche Noten machen sich etwas Platz. Im Mund finde ich nicht viel Interessantes. Viel Süße mit einer scharfen Note. Etwas Holz, etwas Eiche. Karamellige Vanille. Ich weiß nicht was an dem Rum mild sein soll. Der Abgang ist dann auch eher Scharf. Etwas Nuss und Bitterstoffe.

Für 30Euro ist der Rum echt ok, auch wenn ich die 12 Jahre irgendwie nicht glaube. Definitiv ein Massenprodukt. Und so langweilig schmeckt er auch. Um so leerer die Flasche wurde, konnte ich ihm mehr abgewinnen. Hatte das Gefühl die Alkohol Note wird milder. Am Ende war ich froh als es geschafft war. Lieber 10 Euro mehr ausgeben und was anständiges kaufen.

The El-Dorado 12years is a molasses blend which has been stored in bourbon barrels for at least 12 years. The rum comes from Guyana and is dazzled with various pot stills distilled rums. It is the entry-level segment of El-Dorado and can be bought quickly for just under 30euros. The rum with classic 40% is bottled in the bottle typical of El-Dorado. I think the optic is ok. The rum is strongly sweetened. At least 40g/l of sugar have been added.

In the nose, the rum is sharp. Alcohol is the order of the day. Leaving the rum time comes vanilla and some wood with you. Sweet notes make some room for themselves. I don't find much interesting in my mouth. Lots of sweetness with a sharp touch. Some wood, some oak. Caramel vanilla. I don't know what is so great about this rum. The finish is then also rather sharp. Some nut and bitter substances.

For 30Euro the rum is really ok, even if I somehow don't believe the 12 years. Definitely a mass product. And it tastes just boring. The more empty the bottle became, I was able to gain more from it. Had the feeling the alcohol note becomes milder. In the end I was happy when it was done. Better to spend 10 euros more and buy something decent.

Ffffff

Posted 19 days ago by Mista.c from Australia with 12 ratings

Have to say I am disappointed as after reading enough views here I decided to try this drop, however it failed to live up to my expectations. With such comments as “This is my go to Rum” and “Leaves you wanting more” I felt I had to try this. Some people have been claiming this is even better than the 15years. At $85AUD im left knowing there are plenty better options I could have spent my $$$ on. Although it was smooth, it wasnt nearly as sweet as some say (I do prefer the sweeter things in life) and It lacked any real complexity to be desired. Smells average and was kicking myself after opening already knowing ive made a mistake falling for the glowing reviews on this site. Some mutha fuckers can just not be trusted. We all have different tastes but if this is your 10 you have a basic ass palate 7/10

Ffffff

Posted 22 days ago by ultralisk from Canada with 3 ratings

Open the bottle, nice cork lid. Makes that pop when you pull it out.
Get a whiff of that on the nose, wow all I smell is Butterscotch, brown sugar with bananas, orange and coconut.
Go for the taste, when it first hits your tongue, it tastes like a classic Rum. That means fermented sugar cane, and an ever so slight burn/bite to it. The texture is smooth, creamy almost.
The taste evolves so beautifully into this tropical coconut, brown sugar, butterscotch, buttery, bananas, oranges, and wow. It's got sweet fruity tropical profile there is no denying that, but it doesn't take away from the Classic Rum flavor profile. It does not taste like a liqueur, it is still a rum, I want to be clear on that.

Overall, I think this is an easy rum for beginners, and also lovely for seasoned drinkers who are looking for a more tropical taste to remind them of being on a Caribbean beach.

Ffffff

Posted 27 days ago by Gmhansurf from United States with 6 ratings

One of the smoothest rums I have had. Enjoyed it a little too much!

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Hefron from Czech Republic with 46 ratings

Hladký, nasládlý, vynikající chuť a vyvážené aroma. Není ostrý. Rychle dochází...

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by abrarey from United States with 25 ratings

A bit sweet for my taste but really nice. Smell like Bourbon and have that bourbony feeling.
Besides that, I think this is pretty decent. Will I buy it again, probably not, I think there are other rums that offer better value than this one.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Strike69 from United States with 3 ratings

I have not found an El Dorado I don't like. Consistent across the years.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Roger Catan from Netherlands with 1 rating

After some research I decided this was going to be my first rum. The reviews were promising, it wasn't too expensive and I wanted to try something different. I thought of it as a nice pleasant rum to sip, a great starter. It doesn't get boring and I can recommend this one to anyone who is considering to by their first bottle of rum.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Jack from United States with 1 rating

Molasses, vanilla notes, dark chocolate, oak. Very easy to put down, great for a beginner or someone who has a sweet tooth

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 48 ratings

I find this rum to be a safe bet for anyone just getting into the world of rum. I like it and want to rate it higher than a 7 but i like the El Dorado 15 year old just a little better. In reality i would give this a 7.5 if it were possible. The only negative i find about it is that it is just a little too far on the sweet side but it's still good. On ice this one becomes an 8/10 because it tones down the sweetness a bit and makes it more enjoyable. I was amazed to visit a bar in Southend, Essex, which actually had this behind the bar! I was so happy to see a bottle of this rather than the usual rums like Captain Morgan etc that this became a 10/10 for the night haha. Every sip was pure gold because of my happiness to find this stocked.