Posting your rating...
El Dorado 12-Year rum

El Dorado 12-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 12-Year Rum is composed of a blend of aged rums, all at least 12 years old. The rums are distilled using a combination of stills including double wooden pot stills and are aged in bourbon oak casks.

Demerara Distillers of Guyana produces El Dorado 12-year rum and is the country's last remaining distillery, with origins tracing back to 1670. The name ""El Dorado"" references the legendary city of gold that is said to be in the country's Rupununi region.

7.7/10 (1058 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
23
83
269
438
187
46

Rate El Dorado 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1058 El Dorado 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by xCorporalx from Germany with 86 ratings

The smell is fruity and alcoholic...last goes away a bit after letting it breathe...but still sensable...

The taste is good with a burn at the end...the taste sticks a while around...

I tried after the 12 year old the older brother, the elderly dorado 15. Did not like it too much...it kinda stinks compared to the 12. I am surprised as well that they differ so much from each other...the taste is Ok from the 15, but the smell and taste is in my opinion way better with the younger 12.

I give the 12 a solid 7...but there are better rums out there...for example the Plantation 20th Anniversary...from the price range closer to the 15. In the same price range of the 12 ist the Ron Barco de Vargas which tastes better than the 12.

I will keep the 12 in my bar stock though.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Haemonculi from United States with 48 ratings

Doesn't quite excite like its competitors but isn't something I would turn down.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by AndReginald from Italy with 47 ratings

Nice sipper, a bit sweet (I know it has a lot of added sugar) but for my personal taste it's bearable. Hints of oak, vanilla and orange peel. Good for a night with few friends or just by yourself. Very good for beginners, no burn at all.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Clavius from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

Velmi dobrý rum, příjemná jemná vůně s náznaky dubu, chuť z počátku příjemně karamelově sladká s tóny vanilky a cukrové třtiny, ocas však ostřejší, alkoholově štiplavý. Tento rum je v poměru k ceně opravdu dobrá volba, doporučuji.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by DjAugust from Hungary with 24 ratings

Nice rum with a spicy nose and a nice sweetness but not too much. Aldo quite good value for money. Give it a try.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Jijanek from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

This rum has me forever. First tried and fell in love straight away. Since then I have been hooked. Semi sweet but complex and sophisticated taste with an elaborate aftertastes brings out the most of this delicious and amazing rum. Best enjoyed with fire and good book or good company. Sipping at its best and finest

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Longjohnsilver from Italy with 44 ratings

Rum abbastanza complesso, ideale per una fredda serata d'inverno

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by NewMenace from Romania with 13 ratings

Like others have said it does have added sugar but imo that doesnt impacts that much the smooth and very flavorful taste. Everyone should try this rum at least once.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Ken Chee Hing from Trinidad and Tobago with 24 ratings

Never came across an El Dorado I didn't enjoy. A highly recommendable rum that is worth its place in a rum cabinet. Nice balance on the tongue...strong at first but once.it is allowed to mellow in the glass you get pleasant hues of toffee, molases and vanilla.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by maxamillion99 from Canada with 6 ratings

It tastes a lot like whisky. For whisky drinkers this is a good stepping stone into the world of rum. Some points off due to added sugar.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Lilius.P from Denmark with 23 ratings

My first rum, and also the one I allways tend to go back to. More or less a fixed part in my collection.