Posting your rating...
El Dorado 12-Year rum

El Dorado 12-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 12-Year Rum is composed of a blend of aged rums, all at least 12 years old. The rums are distilled using a combination of stills including double wooden pot stills and are aged in bourbon oak casks.

Demerara Distillers of Guyana produces El Dorado 12-year rum and is the country's last remaining distillery, with origins tracing back to 1670. The name ""El Dorado"" references the legendary city of gold that is said to be in the country's Rupununi region.

7.7/10 (999 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
20
78
254
417
176
42

Rate El Dorado 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


999 El Dorado 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

63460962acf5e9c183072339bb660fa2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Axel from Germany with 89 ratings

Nice Rum, it goes in the direction of Whiskey. not to Sweet, very pleasant.

2032fb7a8e9918290417b67e70cc5222.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Tony from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

To be honest this is one of my favourite rums the fruity nose and the smoothnes of this rum is great. Could sip this all day long. Also goes very well with cola. Great rum for the price and do highly recomend.

2c103e821d2f3d1f8f8d20bcd1cb0e4d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Nice golden demerara rum have gone through a few of these in my time. Good price at £33 Amazon next day. Good sipper or mixer. A personal favourite for cocktails.

197f1d04fe363758c7faeab750281720.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Ambros from Netherlands with 20 ratings

A nice sipping rum with lots of oak flavour.. I like it and it's an easy smooth sipper but for my taste there is better for the money. Hence the 7 (would give 7.5 if possible).

B37b4ce95493103678ef3b3122fa3c0c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by SAUR E. SAUR from Canada with 25 ratings

After pouring it in my favourite rum glass, I got hit as others have with the smell of alcohol/ethanol. I could sense pleasant aromas but they were hidden. So I waited and slowly sipped this rum. Give it over 30 minutes to rest. Seriously.

If you don't let it rest, you will taste a rum-cognac mix. If you do, after 30+ minutes the rum starts to come thorough. I let mine rest for 60 minutes and loved it.

The alcohol smell slowly faded to be replaced by wonderful burnt prunes (let your glass rest when empty and smell it).

This reminded me a lot of Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva and at $42 for the Guyanese -vs $58 CAD for the Venezuelan at the LCBO, El Dorado 12 is a fine choice for those who can let it rest.

Bf26abc301974a01ae985221900d7ea5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Rei from Germany with 98 ratings

flavour, taste and finish are all dominated by vanilla, oak, honey and some smoke aroma. This rum is very sweet (in my view too sweet), the finish is mid-long. The taste is immediately present when sipped, so I would put this rum to the more heavy side of rums.

751882498f7933bcd41d7e38cd3113fe.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Doug from Canada with 21 ratings

I've had the 5, 8, 12, 15 and 21 year all in the one sitting and the 12 and 21 year old were the best.
If you are paying for it yourself the 12 year is hands down my favorite. If you got lots of money by two bottles of the 12 rather than one of the 21 !

46dbc9814785c3227eff81c114fd4c16.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Wiebster from Canada with 3 ratings

This is the first rum I have liked. But really, it is the first sipping rum I have tried. So I have nothing to compare. Still it does make me want to try other rums.

Beb96c0d3b94efc15c6d579caf821fef.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Theslasher from United States with 11 ratings

There's not much I can say about this rum that others have not already said.If you're new to sipping rums I would recommend this as something that's not overly complex to a beginner nor does it break the bank.Check this one out if you haven't already well worth the coin imo.It also mixes well if feel inclined to do so.I rate this a 7.5

3ea00e7879ca526d46f65ebcdf5ccbe0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Anders from Denmark with 10 ratings

The best blender rum for a Cuba Libre!

Fill a glass with icecubes
1 part El dorado 12
2 part Coca-Cola
The juice from half a lime

The best Cuba Libre ever!

1b574cc23e02b69a133e0333e06f08ad.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Mayo from Italy with 22 ratings

Color ambra, nut, apricot, pineapple ,syrup, cannella ,garofano, a little too much snella of alcool