Posting your rating...
El Dorado 12-Year rum

El Dorado 12-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 12-Year Rum is composed of a blend of aged rums, all at least 12 years old. The rums are distilled using a combination of stills including double wooden pot stills and are aged in bourbon oak casks.

Demerara Distillers of Guyana produces El Dorado 12-year rum and is the country's last remaining distillery, with origins tracing back to 1670. The name ""El Dorado"" references the legendary city of gold that is said to be in the country's Rupununi region.

7.7/10 (1011 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
20
80
257
424
175
43

Rate El Dorado 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1011 El Dorado 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

8f3ae57c15f1b36b3d6120d286373728.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Markus Lehto from Finland with 32 ratings

Basic brown in color. Modeller's glue on nose. Strong, soft barrel taste, oaky.

5c2bd48625f94b1736fd129f572fde87.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by PTGarcia from United States with 23 ratings

Exceptional flavor profile for me (good oak/sweet balance) and plenty smooth with just enough bite to remind me it is rum.

I have tried the 15 year as well and love it, but find it hard to justify the increase in cost to get to the 15. When first getting into tasting rum, I would routinely use the 12 as a benchmark and really appreciate the quality for the price point (~$35). It has recently become available in my area and it is time for me to revisit this classic.

F8a9726912ee66d032eff9be774fd71d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Luka from Croatia with 16 ratings

Firstly you get not a solera-(which is not always bad) but actual 12 years old rum and it shows.

Even the smell is a messenger something good is on its way.

First sip neat and you get a complex mix of burbon/cognac complexity of tastes but in the aftertaste you are reminded of the obvious that it is actually a rum. It is sweet and very smooth. Notes of honey, oak, spice, coconut and zest fruits. Someone like me who is a newby, will be blown away by the complexity.

On the rocks with little club soda was a way to go for me (as it is shown in the picture) as it does not lose any taste but only gets smoother to drink.

8b743d8e231b54b0ecd07f46b18a9f34.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Michal Pulák from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Za ty penize moc dobry a zajimavy rum. Na celovecerni piti je optimalni.

26ade8a102c7509da801575ca340d72b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Vaclav Krivanek from Czech Republic with 3 ratings

... a od té doby se jen těžko hledá něco lepšího.
Vůně: Naprosto úžasná vůně, která pro mě zatím nemá konkurenci. 9/10
Chuť: Perfektní chuť, mírně sladší ale ne moc, mírně ostřejší ale tak akorát. 9/10

S cenou do 600kč jsem zatím neochutnal lepší rum.
Jsem zvědavý na porovnání s 15 a 21 El Doradem.

Koupil/nekoupil znovu: Koupil bych celý sud.

F1ea3ace305aed91216dd1f4f67dee9b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Token from Netherlands with 26 ratings

This is a sweet rum with good taste. Not special. According my brother in law it is really good with cola as it brings out the coconut flavour. I am now curious to the 15 and 21 years El Dorado.

B234f1b0320a14b0f0d70ef852fa0675.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Martin from Slovakia with 2 ratings

Rum ktorý má naučil že rum nie je rum odkedy som si ho kúpil sme skúšali minimálne 30 rumov ale eldorado si kúpim znovu.

Afe6c6ba2df76139176dca5a85e21c45.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Ralf from Germany with 23 ratings

After opening the bottle it smelled like glue, still after opened it for a while. Taste was ok, but not as good as expected.
Since the bottle is half full the smell and taste is a lot better.

3c97c5356c537a9f5f5e1482e6143f59.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Hawkeye821 from United States with 17 ratings

Affordable and solid vanilla and sweet on the palate.

Ca51c9ca211e7d3f09f62ac2589fbfa2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by O'Neill from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

Do not be discouraged by a bit of brutal aroma and take a rum for a moment in a glass. You will be rewarded with a very sweet aroma, in which the fruit mainly protrudes. On the tongue, El Dorado is gentle and leaves no odor. Someone may seem too sweet, but it suits me not only because of its carameliness. If you want decent gift for someone, who isn't rum enthusiast, you do not make a mistake with this twelve-year-old mix of rums from Demerar Distillers of Guyana.

Dc5e6a4e8aaabc9cad910a14cfb8e0d8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by MiKli from Czech Republic with 69 ratings

Oak wood taste, also a bit like smoked or tobacco flavour, followed with orange and fruity tones, smooooth delicious, good one to me. No burns, great.