Posting your rating...
El Dorado 12-Year rum

El Dorado 12-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 12-Year Rum is composed of a blend of aged rums, all at least 12 years old. The rums are distilled using a combination of stills including double wooden pot stills and are aged in bourbon oak casks.

Demerara Distillers of Guyana produces El Dorado 12-year rum and is the country's last remaining distillery, with origins tracing back to 1670. The name ""El Dorado"" references the legendary city of gold that is said to be in the country's Rupununi region.

7.7/10 (1039 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
22
83
262
433
182
45

Rate El Dorado 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1039 El Dorado 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Kristofer from Sweden with 11 ratings

Tastefull and mild with a nice taste. Personaly i find it a bit better than the El Dorado 15.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Peter from Canada with 11 ratings

This is a great rum! I like the El Dorado rums.
This one is one of the best rums you can get for the cost. So much sweetnes an flavour. Much fruit in the taste. Makes you want more. Better than the 15 year IMHO

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Kevin from United States with 29 ratings

A silky smooth sweet sipper. A lovely nose. An excellent digestive.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Rick schoen from United States with 5 ratings

Good for sipping. Best straight up............................

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Anthony Soleau from United States with 24 ratings

Much like Don Julio to Tequila, El Dorado offers a high quality introduction to rum and is truly superb when you reach the top of their line. This 12 year is a perfect intro to their world that only gets better as you go further in.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Rob Pettigrew from Canada with 22 ratings

I discovered good rums with El Dorado 15, which is (sometimes) hard to come by and expensive in Canada. I bought the 12 to try and I was pleasantly surprised. Sweet and fruity, with some vanilla and spice notes. I drink it straight and mixed in tiki cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Ryan Rosebush (PREMIUM) from United States with 31 ratings

Not bad, but not great either. A little hotter than i was expecting but mellowed out after a little time & an ice cube. Not quite as sugary as I was expecting based on other ratings, but certainly moreso than the 15.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Blikas Andreas from Greece with 3 ratings

One of my favorite! excellent nose with with deep brown color! Taste sweet in the mouth and long finish....for me without ice or water or anything else.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Robin Pollet from Belgium with 6 ratings

Very nice rum, with a natural looking light-brown/orangy colour. On the nose you get a lot of fruit and a sweetness also very subtle hints of chocolate. The taste is quite sweet, light and fruity. It doesn't have a very long finish. It's a good simple supper if you're not feeling like a complex rum and just want to sit and enjoy.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Gary from United States with 33 ratings

I was traveling in Canada and found that they had a lot more if a selection than at home so I picked up a bottle. I drank it mostly on the rocks and it was quite good. Slightly sweet with a nice finish. Since it was very hot I also made dark and stormy.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by James from United States with 14 ratings

A little to spicy for my taste. Enjoyed it with a mix but not on the rocks