Posting your rating...
El Dorado 12-Year rum

El Dorado 12-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 12-Year Rum is composed of a blend of aged rums, all at least 12 years old. The rums are distilled using a combination of stills including double wooden pot stills and are aged in bourbon oak casks.

Demerara Distillers of Guyana produces El Dorado 12-year rum and is the country's last remaining distillery, with origins tracing back to 1670. The name ""El Dorado"" references the legendary city of gold that is said to be in the country's Rupununi region.

7.7/10 (1084 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
24
85
280
448
189
46

Rate El Dorado 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1084 El Dorado 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Blasphemous Maximus from Canada with 2 ratings

Just brilliant. This is the rum that officially got me deep into the rabbit hole of delicious rum. Admittedly I've had better in the years since, but this isn't a rating based on nostalgia as it's a fantastic rum in its own right (a bit too sweet for some though). However the price point at just over $30 for me easily cinches its deserved rating.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Wozzerwozzer from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

Mr first "proper" rum, so fond of it for that reason. Very smooth, no lasting burn, aroma of Xmas pud, great sipper and on the rocks. Relegated to 2nd favourite now I've discovered Plantation XO.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Shaymus from Canada with 6 ratings

Nice go to rum that is readily available at a good price point, replaced Capt Morgan private stock in my cabinate as my casual rum.
Nice Carmel flavours and mixes well with Coke.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Art from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

Wow, what an aroma. This is a sweet rum and too much sugar added for me but it didn’t stop me enjoying the bottle but I won’t be buying again. Why the 8/10 because if you like sweet rum then you will love this.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Stefan from Sweden with 3 ratings

This rum is very excellent in the glass and the nose is very smooth.
The price makes this one hard

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by jiri.tutsch from Czech Republic with 24 ratings

Tohle davam do coly, protoze chutove to je slabsi - zvlastni kombinace korenene a vanilkove chuti. Mene vyrazne, ale colu to prijemne ovoni...

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by robo_h from Slovakia with 20 ratings

this was a good one, but you can find better ones for the price.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by SNAX-EYZ from Canada with 7 ratings

It's a rough start and finish. Even in coke it's not great.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by MichielV from Netherlands with 25 ratings

The El Dorado 12-year is an excellent rum and it is one of the best in its price range. It has a very aromatic and powerful nose; sweet and citrusy. You taste caramel and oak in a balance that is nearly perfect. The powerful aftertaste lasts long in your mouth. It's a perfect sipper!

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Dan from United Kingdom with 45 ratings

It may not be what I look for in a rum, but I can appreciate that it's a very flavourful rum with a depth that many will appreciate.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Jesse Mora from United States with 14 ratings

It’s a decent rum but at the price point it’s a bit more than I could justify. If it were ten dollars less I’d say it’d be good but i don’t understand the hype on this one. It’s a bit sweet followed by a harsh alcohol burn, not terrible but for a more premium rum I expected more. However with that said I like my rum sweet, so if you like less sweet and bitier rum this is for you, but if you want a sweet rum that is smoother go get Diplomático.