Posting your rating...
El Dorado 12-Year rum

El Dorado 12-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 12-Year Rum is composed of a blend of aged rums, all at least 12 years old. The rums are distilled using a combination of stills including double wooden pot stills and are aged in bourbon oak casks.

Demerara Distillers of Guyana produces El Dorado 12-year rum and is the country's last remaining distillery, with origins tracing back to 1670. The name ""El Dorado"" references the legendary city of gold that is said to be in the country's Rupununi region.

7.7/10 (1036 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
22
83
263
431
180
45

Rate El Dorado 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1036 El Dorado 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

This one is a lot sweeter and less punchy than the 15 yo and to me this one is best used in cocktails but can sip too, if only it didn`t have so much sugar added, 36g/L is a LOT.The 12 year old is aged in used whisky and bourbon barrels. In 2006 it was reformulated, It has tasting notes of fruit, tobacco and orange peel and has tropical fruits and spice nose.This rum contains predominantly copper coffey still rum from Diamond blended with the double wooden pot still at Port Mourant and marques from the Enmore wooden Coffey.Take out the sugar that was added and it would been a great rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Alexey from United States with 25 ratings

king, absolute favorite best I tried among premium rums, highly recommend

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Kent from Canada with 2 ratings

It cost $45 but worth maybe $20. Very harsh,lacks the smoothness of most real 12 year old rums.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jason from United States with 4 ratings

Color is dark amber, taste of vanilla is subdued but comes to the fore with a cube of ice or two and a short wait.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Thomas from Netherlands with 7 ratings

A very gentle fruity nose to it. a lovely smooth rum to drink neat, Sweet and vanilla in the mouth and Nice and warm as it goes down. After that you can taste the prume very well for up to about 2 minutes after.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Richard B. from Slovakia with 30 ratings

El dorado 12 years old is one of the best rums in my collection, i can say its a little bit better then diplomatico reserva exclusiva. its cheaper, aromatic a taste is gorgeous.

Bottle: i love that style, that pirate style of bottle with red stamp showing an information about age of rum. very nice.

aroma: smell like exotic fruit a little bit of honey aroma, little bit spice and oak aroma. very nic and aromatic. you can feel anything. perfect.

taste: honey, vanilla, oak, brown sugar, plum in caramel, and a bit of anise.

color: nice color of milk chocolate

summary: perfect rum for people who prefer non dry rums. i prefer sweet rum because for me is better to drink sweeter rums for their aromas. i want to try older one.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Eloi from Canada with 9 ratings

Great rum for its price. It's pretty affordable, sweet and not too strong on the alcohool. Great to sip all by itself.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jiri from Czech Republic with 2 ratings

Dobrá chuť. Poměr cena-výkon je Ok. Méně nasládlá chuť než u 15yo

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Peter from Canada with 11 ratings

This is a great rum! I like the El Dorado rums.
This one is one of the best rums you can get for the cost. So much sweetnes an flavour. Much fruit in the taste. Makes you want more. Better than the 15 year IMHO

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Kevin from United States with 29 ratings

A silky smooth sweet sipper. A lovely nose. An excellent digestive.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Rick schoen from United States with 5 ratings

Good for sipping. Best straight up............................