Posting your rating...
El Dorado 12-Year rum

El Dorado 12-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 12-Year Rum is composed of a blend of aged rums, all at least 12 years old. The rums are distilled using a combination of stills including double wooden pot stills and are aged in bourbon oak casks.

Demerara Distillers of Guyana produces El Dorado 12-year rum and is the country's last remaining distillery, with origins tracing back to 1670. The name ""El Dorado"" references the legendary city of gold that is said to be in the country's Rupununi region.

7.7/10 (1036 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
22
83
263
431
180
45

Rate El Dorado 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1036 El Dorado 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by SaidWhatWhen from United States with 9 ratings

Very similar in taste to the above, but a bit richer. Not sure how the Venezuelans are still producing anything aged as the economy is in ruins, so I like to think that this rum still holds true to tradition.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by DjAugust from Hungary with 24 ratings

Nice rum with a spicy nose and a nice sweetness but not too much. Aldo quite good value for money. Give it a try.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jijanek from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

This rum has me forever. First tried and fell in love straight away. Since then I have been hooked. Semi sweet but complex and sophisticated taste with an elaborate aftertastes brings out the most of this delicious and amazing rum. Best enjoyed with fire and good book or good company. Sipping at its best and finest

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Longjohnsilver from Italy with 44 ratings

Rum abbastanza complesso, ideale per una fredda serata d'inverno

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by NewMenace from Romania with 13 ratings

Like others have said it does have added sugar but imo that doesnt impacts that much the smooth and very flavorful taste. Everyone should try this rum at least once.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ken Chee Hing from Trinidad and Tobago with 24 ratings

Never came across an El Dorado I didn't enjoy. A highly recommendable rum that is worth its place in a rum cabinet. Nice balance on the tongue...strong at first but once.it is allowed to mellow in the glass you get pleasant hues of toffee, molases and vanilla.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by maxamillion99 from Canada with 6 ratings

It tastes a lot like whisky. For whisky drinkers this is a good stepping stone into the world of rum. Some points off due to added sugar.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Lilius.P from Denmark with 23 ratings

My first rum, and also the one I allways tend to go back to. More or less a fixed part in my collection.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by skocan from Czech Republic with 22 ratings

Great aroma, great complex taste. It could have been smoother, but otherwise wow.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Dimitris from Greece with 74 ratings

Taste 7,6/10. Nice sweet with little wood, maybe some fruits , also finish with very little cognac taste & some burn. Overall enjoyable....

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jason from United States with 68 ratings

This is had a thicker consistency than I was expecting and was quite sweet. The flavor profile presented spice, vanilla, caramel, and molasses. Beyond the sweetness I think this would be an incredible rum. However, the more I drink it, the more I'm liking it.